Blown Glass & St. Pierre


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Antakya
May 19th 2012
Published: May 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

St PierreSt PierreSt Pierre

Believed to be the first "Christian Church" -
My day began with a short and odd trip to the Synagoge. Apparently there was a miscommunication and the person I thought would meet me there did not show. Shrugging it off I walked toward the St. Pierre. IPOD in ears and water bottle close I started the roughly 2 mile hike. Along the way I found an odd blown glass museum. The bottles were supposed to keep the holy water from the pilgrimage sites. As I left and continued walking – I ran into this guy that I had met a week or so before. He gave me a ride up to St. Pierre. We took some photos from inside and he showed me the hidden cavern that the Christians used to hide from the Muslim invaders before. These caverns make a weird honeycomb into the rock facing and go on into the mountain for some way. Later, we climbed higher – and saw the face of Mary in the rock. There is some debate here as to whether the face is actually Mary or another more Ancient goddess face. We went back down the village, had lunch and went to a tea house in the center of the city.
MaryMaryMary

Maybe Mary - maybe another goddess
On the way back – I had an emotional meltdown. There was a dog – she was so skinny that I actually thought she was dead. When she moved – she shocked me and I ran to the nearest restaurant and bought her some food. I waited in line and watched as not one person stopped for her – even noticed her. I brought her food, as men watched me. They probably thought I was another crazy American as I stood breaking off pieces of and sobbing uncontrollably. She wagged her tail, looked at me – but when I went to offer her some of my water she slinked back – frightened. It was heartbreaking – the rest of the trip home was me attempting to hold myself together. By the time I got back – it was all I could do to open the blue door, shut it and then shudder with mounting sobs. Hell, I am even crying a little now.

Perhaps now I will leave you with a quote.

"The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated. "

- Gandi


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Front Front
Front

Outside of St. Pierre
Glass BottlesGlass Bottles
Glass Bottles

To hold Holy Water
Escape TunnelEscape Tunnel
Escape Tunnel

For Fleeing....
ViewView
View

View from Mountain


22nd May 2012

poor doggy
Awww... poor doggy. It is so sweet of you to care about him.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb