Istanbul - Part 2


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
March 10th 2010
Published: March 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

ParkParkPark

This is the park near our hotel where I went running. The Archaeological Museum is here - but I didn't get to it. Next time!
The Grand Bazaar was hands-down the most overwhelming experience I've had on this trip. There was too much for my eyes and ears to handle: jeans, sneakers, scarves, genie lamps, and aggressive/sexist salesmen. One or two is okay, but after a while I felt really dehumanized. I doubt the individual men mean anything by it, but the whole culture or mentality is overwhelming (if I can use that adjective yet again). I felt really dehumanized walking around the bazaar, but upon reflection, maybe I have been reading into it a little too much. It may not be that big a deal. Though I don't think you can excuse poor treatment for cultural reasons, maybe there isn't much more below the surface. Either way, Daphne and I decided that we would relax and unwind with a visit to an ancient Turkish bath - which was quite possibly our best idea ever. For two hours we alternated between slow-cooking ourselves on a heated slab of stone, swimming around in a large jacuzzi, and bathing ourselves in hidden stone enclaves. Amazing.

One of the teachers who accompanied us, Torben, said Danes had a lot to learn from the Midwest. He said every Dane should go there because "My people have forgotten/they don't know how to be friendly. I love the Midwest - I think it's great." I got a vaguely Midwestern vibe from the Turks that I met. They were so friendly and welcoming and open and chatty, despite some language barriers. It was easier to feel comfortable with them as new friends than it has been with most Danes. (Later in the week, my Danish teacher remarked that it's a little embarrassing, how poorly Danes treat the Turkish immigrants, because Turks are so warm and welcoming when Danes visit Turkey.)

I don’t understand Turkey - I don’t understand Istanbul - but I would certainly like to. This is why Daphne and I have decided to move to Istanbul after graduation! How, why, when, etc…these details are not important right now. We are just telling everyone about our new plans so that we have to follow through and actually spend a few years in Istanbul. Don’t worry - you can come visit! It’ll be great!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

A View to AsiaA View to Asia
A View to Asia

You can see the "Asian side" across the Bosphorus.
Blue Mosque by nightBlue Mosque by night
Blue Mosque by night

Many of the restaurants where we ate had amazing views of the city - as you can see.
Hagia SophiaHagia Sophia
Hagia Sophia

This building is almost incomprehensibly large.


Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb