Kbh


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
March 21st 2010
Published: March 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Fagget FairysFagget FairysFagget Fairys

Fagget Fairys is a Danish DJ duo, and this is the second time I've seen them perform.
Fun fact: Danes love their calendars. There are three hanging in our kitchen -2010, 2008, and 2007. As I updated the current calendar, I realized that I have very little time left in Denmark before I go back to the United States. I'm not a crier, but I almost cried. These past eight months have been a whirlwind of cross-cultural encounters, and I am so glad that I decided to stay for a full year, instead of just one semester. That was my only regret about my summer program in Santiago: I was only there for 1.5 months. I'm not ready to go back to the States. People tell me that will change in the next two months, but I don't believe them.

Between my busy school schedule, my full social calendar, and my aversion to sleep, I have worn myself out a little in the past week. Two midterms, a handful of other assignments, a final Danish exam are just the tip of the iceberg. Other activities include:
• Mika at KB Hallen!
• Volunteering at the International Women's Day Festival at Rådhuset
• En Skærsommernatsdrøm (A Midsummer Night's Dream) ballet at Det Kongelige Teater with my aunt and
MikaMikaMika

The entire concert felt like a giant happy party.
cousin
• run 16.5 km in preparation for the Berlin Half-Marathon
• Dinner party with some Danes and some DIS kids - (fiske)frikadeller, kartofler, salat, øl, vin, rødkål = (fish)meatballs, potatoes, salad, beer, wine, red cabbage = traditional Danish food
• Fagget Fairys at Pumpehuset!

It's approximately spring break time back in the USA, so several of my friends have had visitors: boyfriends, girlfriends, best friends - they're all here. It's a weird thing to see people from "home" in this location. It's almost as if they don't belong, as if life here and there are two parallel universes. But then once they are here, it kinda of feels like they were always here.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb