Eastern Europe


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After Greece I traveled with two dutch boys from my volunteer camp. We took an overnight train up to Sofia Bulgaria where we stayed for two nights. Me and Sander weren't too impressed by Sofia, but Kees on the other hand loved it. It was hard coming from Greece where it was warm, the people were friendly, and a lot of people spoke english. Sofia was in full on Fall so the weather was pretty cold gloomy and I noticed that everyone was dressed in black leather. Just not quite as cheerful as Greece. We also got a few ridiculous tram fines due to the awful tram system there. We couldn't explain ourselves because the ticket officer didn't speak english. Luckily enough it wasn't that much to pay, but still very frustrating. We spent one day walking around town, then the next day we took a train out to Plovdiv for some more sight seeing.

From Sofia we caught another night train to Istanbul, Turkey. From the moment the sun rose on the train, I loved this country! Totally blown away by Turkey, especially by Istanbul! So many beautiful mosques, carpet stores, strees vendors, and all with an eastern feel! Everyone was so nice, sometimes a little over the top trying to get you to walk into their store, but genuinely friendly. The second day in Istanbul, I said goodbye to Sander and Kees, who were starting another workcamp in Istanbul. I spent the next two days wandering around Istabul constantly in awe. Such an amazing city. Sometimes I felt like I was in Disneyland with all the pointy spires of the mosques and the fairytale looking castles. At the hostel I was staying at I met a girl from the States and later that week we traveled together down the west coast. We took a bus from Istanbul to Cannakale. In Turkey they sure do know how to do long distance bus trips. It was basically like being on an airplane! We got two seperate servings of tea,coffee or juice along with a nice snack. When the bus pulled over for the 20 min bathroom break, it got a complete washdown. There was even an onboard movie, all in Turkish of course! And to top it off, it was so cheap considering it was a 6 hour ride!

From Cannakale we went on the 3 hour tour of Troy. Our guide was quite knowledgable, seeing as he's written the main tour guide book on Troy. It was unreal to wander the old fort and look down on the plains where the big battles took place. Later that day we took another luxurious bus ride down to Selcuk where we explored the ancient ruined city of Ephesus. Again, simply amazing!! It took us over two hours just to walk through this ruined city. So many marble columns and statues and theatres! This was definitely my favorite pile of ruins I've seen throughout my 3 months in Europe!!

While we were in Selcuk we went to the Turkish Baths one evening...heaven!! It was basically like a sauna, but you lay on this giant slab of heated marble and pour water over yourself. Then you just lay there and sweat before getting a full body salt scrub then a soapy massage. It was sooo nice! Afterward I was so relaxed and in such a happy, blissful state of mind! I highly recommend this to everyone. Go out and get a Turkish bath!

Unfortunately I only spent a total of five days in Turkey. Next time I'm in this part of the world, my first stop will be Turkey. There are so many amazing sights that I didn't get a chance to see during my short visit here. I just got a small taste that's making me want more. So far Turkey is my favorite country that I visited, and originally I wasn't even planning to go here. Whew, lucky I joined up with Kees and Sander!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

TroyTroy
Troy

The actual horse starring in Troy, the movie with Brad Pitt!
EphesusEphesus
Ephesus

Only a small part of the city!
The marble street, ephesusThe marble street, ephesus
The marble street, ephesus

Street literally made of giant marble slabs. At the very end you can see the 3 story building. That's the library!! Unfortunately my camera battery died right when we got down there :(
The latrines aka socializing cornerThe latrines aka socializing corner
The latrines aka socializing corner

The audio guide descriped this as a place to socialize with friends...and take care of business


30th June 2010
The marble street, ephesus

Correction to Photo
This is not Marble Street. It is Curetes Street. Marble Street begins by the Augustus Triumphal Arch, which is beside beside the library, which is at the foot of Curetes Street.

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb