Where to next?


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Marmara » Istanbul » Sultanahmet
May 3rd 2012
Published: May 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Spending a little time this morning debating the next best things to do. I am considering a two-day trip to Capadoccia (Goreme) leaving tonight and coming back to Istanbul for a Hammam (wash in a bath) before heading out to Ireland. I just need to make sure I don't miss my flight. Ali, the hostel owner / manager will give me a recommendation and I will accept it since I haven't taken the trouble to plan it for myself.

Last night Ali organised a street barbecue and a belly dancer on the rooftop garden. It sounds fascinating and it was good fund. Sitting in the street eating kofte and chicken with salad and rice was done by street light - I couldn't tell whether the meat was cooked but I a not dead or ill this morning... The belly dancer asked Rob (an English videographer who's cycling around the world) to manage the dancing music on the computer and after dinner we went to the top of the building and sat in the cold air listening to the davul (drum) and baglama (string instrument) music waiting for the dancer. She came up the stairs in a flurry of green satin.
Basilica cisternBasilica cisternBasilica cistern

Roman underground water supply
She was a small girl with long hair and a kind smile and she danced (frankly without much a belly to wobble) with the Aya Sofia mosque as a background.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb