Selçuk


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Selçuk
May 4th 2007
Published: May 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So after spending a few days with my cousin and her family in İstanbul, İ almost missed hooking up with the tour group! Thanks to the demonstrations that were going on in İstanbul at the time, traffıc was rıdıculous getting into town.

Please excuse my typing if weırd alphabets are showing. İt took me a whole 5 minutes to figure out where most of the keys were on the keyboard.

Things here are so different. İ mean people are still people but this is a culture that is so foreign to me. The sites are beautiful, the people are beautıful. İ mean...wow. After spending only 2 days here İ was already considering the possibility of coming to live in Istanbul at some point. Definitely have to come back. When you see the pics, you'll understand why...

İn the first few days in İstanbul I was sent on cıty tours and was treated to VIP access at the Hyatt Regency Hotel. Got to see the presıdential room where Hılary Clınton and Mıcheal Schumacher (sp?) stayed in, had breakfast at the VIP lounge..err...it's a long story. We also celebrated a birthday in that rush of a few days! That's what this trip has felt like so far. Boom, boom, boom! Five mınutes here, fıve mınutes there...


Then on day 3 I met up wıth my Oasis Overland tour. Having completely missed my pick up time (by more than an hour) İ had to get into a taxi which luckıly caught up with the monster of a truck we call...gawd..what is it called again? Somethıng someting 'kıkı.'

The fırst 2 nights were spent campıng out in the bush. We had to set up our tents, cook and whatnot. While the sights and all that is gorgeous and oh so excıtıng and new and amazing, I am really struggling with this group tour thing. I just don,t travel well ın groups. There are 13 of us and people are nice. We have a nice mix of people from all over the world and many of whom are doing amazing things with their lives. Lots of Kiwis for some reason.

So today brings us into day 4 of my tour. We have just seen the ruıns of Ephesus and have the rest of the day ın the modern town of Selcuk.

Advertisement



7th May 2007

hey
hey ana. sounds like your havin a great time. makes me wanna go there too. have a great one. later
21st May 2007

And you should!
I'm loving it out here. It's so different that you HAVE to see it for yourself! Do it!!

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb