I'm alive in Turkey...seriously.


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Kusadasi
August 16th 2006
Published: August 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

I'm really sorry for not having written for such a long time, but it has been a very busy few months on ship, along with the fact that I can't log in from the crappy internet cafe on the ship. Anyway, Europe is amazing, and I highly recommend coming here ASAP if you're thinking of it....there are just so many things to see and experience. Things that I've recently seen that have amazed me...Rome...all of it, it's just one amazing work of art, architecture and fashion all one after the other, it's just too much to take in one day...which is why I've been there 3 times now. Also, watching a tiny volcanic island off the coast of Italy at 2am erupting like a fireworks display on Canada day, along with burst of flame as the glowing lava hits the water...and at the same time in the distances, a lightning storm with a orangish glow and massive cloud formations only seen when illuminated by the frequent bolts. What a show. I have been busy just taking in the sights and sounds of the Med, I love Croatia, having jumped in the sea off a rocky cliff in my boxer briefs for the first time there...and just chilling with my friends from the ship while the nearby bar played some sweet lounge music as we sipped on ice cold beer on the 38C sunny weather. The weather has been amazing, not a drop of rain for months and the average temp is 35-40C...it's hot. I believe that I nearly started melting in Naples a few weeks ago as we hit 43C not including the humidity. Highlights also include celebrating my birthday in Monte Carlo...it just reeks of money, and I won't even start on how many yaghts, ferraris, bentley's, and other high priced toys for the rich were on display. It really is one of the cleanest cities I have ever been to in my life. My end date from the ship is Oct. 19, and I'll be kicking it in Europe for a few weeks, and then I think I'll be heading over to Brazil, it seems like a good time to go before I head off to Australia. I'm going to be logging back in tomorrow in Athens, so I should have some pictures from my months so far on the ship ready for your viewing pleasure. To all of my friends back home and those I've met on the ship, I miss all of you and would love to hear from you.

Cheers,

neil


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.3s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb