Tired and sick in Syria


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » West » Hama
May 4th 2007
Published: May 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

NoriasNoriasNorias

These norias, syrian water wheels, are the most attractive things in Hama, old of several centuries, they decorate the city and entertain visitors with theirs noisy swirling sound.
So, here I am down in a very nice little hostel, compared to the previous I did down at Aleppo. Hama, famous for its water wheels. Hama, suppposed to be the most religious one in the region or even the country, but where I have seen the most smiles returned back at me from both men and women.
Some kids have the most sparkling green eyes I have ever seen.

For those interested, I have been dragging since I left Istanbul a little sore throat that is getting bigger, but since I haven't been to a pharmacist yet, cause I am too lazy and since the fever is gone and I am in a very confortable bed (I'll be in a couple of minutes anyway), I'm using this time and the stop we made to this town, with my two new fellow travellers Peter and Stewart, to sleep a little more and recover.
I've been taking a nap already since 3 pm this afternoon.
And it's super unbelievably hot in the afternoon here.

I cannot give you any of my opinion yet on Syria, cause as weird as it is, I have none for the moment. I cannot
Le PelicanLe PelicanLe Pelican

Attached and bored from his captiveness, very used to having people around all day longm he didn't even bother snapping my fingers out when I tried touching it. Quite impressive by its massiveness.
make up my mind on whether I like it or not.
I'll make my way to Krak des Chevaliers first thing tomorrow morning, and then Palmyra in the afternoon to enjoy the camel and horses festival, then it will be Damascus. Hopefully by then I'll have a better and clear opinion.
Until then, Tada



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Goose lady in the flower market of HamaGoose lady in the flower market of Hama
Goose lady in the flower market of Hama

I liked the colourfulness of this woman who was actually having her picture taken by a member of her family.
Hama's famous attractionHama's famous attraction
Hama's famous attraction

These wooden water wheels can be up to 20m diameter, gracing the city from centuries now. Their existence goes back to the 5th century AD.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb