To Aleppo and Back


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » North » Aleppo
July 3rd 2006
Published: July 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

After I found out the trip to Lebanon is next weekend, I decided to go to Aleppo this weekend. A couple of people said they might go but then backed out so I decided to go alone anyway. I headed out on Friday around 11am. It was a little later than I had wanted to but what's a guy to do. I got a taxi to the bus station and got a ticket for 100 Lira, or about $2 for the 5 hour trip. When I got on the bus it was hot, cramped, and uncomfortable. 😞 Anyway, after a long trip I finally arrived in Aleppo but then spent a couple of hours trying to find a hotel that had rooms and was in my price range. The last one I checked before I was about to give up and spend the $50 a night or a really nice one was open and so I was very happy. I had found out my friend Emily was in Aleppo too so I gave her a call and she said she'd call me back to get together later. Well, she didn't but she appologized profusely the next day and said she'd buy me dinner since I waited around for her. Anyway, I ended up spending the rest of the night watching American movies with Arabic subtitles in my hotel room. Very relaxing.

Saturday I got up early and rented a car and driver for the day. First stop was a Byzantine era (5th century) church in very good shape called Mushabak. After that I headed to Qalaat Semaan, named after St. Simeon Stylites. If you don't know who he is I suggest doing a quick google search, he led an interesting life but inspired many people to take a pilgrimage to see him. This place also dates from the 5th century and at the time it was the largest Basilica complex in the world. From here I continued on to the Ain Dara temple complex. Here is a Hittite temple from 10,000 BC. Probably the oldest man made thing I've seen in my life. It was pretty incredible to imagine the age of the area. From here it was a trek up to the Turkish border to the site of Cyrrhus (Nabi Huri in Arabic). This was a Roman city founded in about 68 BC. Not much remained after it was sacked by the Persians but the drive there and the view from the top were incredible. After this it was back to Aleppo but not before one last stop on the way. There are two Roman bridges nearby the city that are still original from Roman times and still in use. They are in such great shape it's unbelievable to think that they're thousands of years old. I even got a picture with a Chevy Suburban driving over it so these things can still hold some weight. From there it was back to Aleppo.

Once back in Aleppo I was very tired but decided that I wouldn't have time on Sunday so I went and visitied the Great Mosque and the Citadel. I didn't go inside either one but they were both rather remarkable. After that I basically went home and crashed knowing I'd have another long day on Sunday.


Sunday I got another car and driver (this time I made sure it was air conditioned). We set out from Aleppo and first drove to Apamea. This Roman town was in pretty bad shape but just to walk down the Grand Colonnade of over a mile was...wow! From here it was on to Hama and the famous Norias on the river. Sure enough there are huge (over 20ft.) water wheels that used to supply the town with water. And yes, for any of you that have heard about them they do indeed groan and squeak continuously from the wet wood rubbing on wood. From Hama it was on to the Krac des Chevaliers. It was the largest crusader castle built and was never sacked, only taken over by a surrender of a garrison of some 200 men inside to an entire army outside. It is enourmous and in great shape for having taken assault several times. Anyway, I would also look it up if you haven't already because it has some neat stories. Anyway, from there it was on to Damascus and crashing at home from a long weekend with lots of walking and climbing.

Enjoy the pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 71, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



10th July 2006

HEY
Great pics! looks like such a beautifull country!
14th July 2006

Great pics and thanks for sharing them. How much did you have to pay for the car and driver to take you to St. Simeon and Cyrrhus? Krak and Hama? I just want to get an idea since I am visiting Syria this September. Thanks
1st January 2007

Thank you for sharing
These are wonderful photographs. Thank you for sharing them with strangers. We are all connected somehow and photographs like these underscore that fact. It is a beautiful country rich in history. Victoria

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb