Photo Essay of Kuwait


Advertisement
Kuwait's flag
Middle East » Kuwait » Salmiya
January 5th 2013
Published: January 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The Avenues MallThe Avenues MallThe Avenues Mall

Newest and most extravagant mall in Kuwait. These pictures are from Phase II. Phase 1 has a completely different look.
This is my fourth year in Kuwait. I teach at a private university here. I'm here for the money, I won't lie. But I do have a very good job that I like and there are some cool things to see here. If you live here. There is absolutely no reason to come here as a tourist, although I did meet some rather naive backpackers last year who thought there was. They looked like fish out of water walking around in 40 degree heat with huge backpacks on the Gulf Road. I bet they got more stares than a blond woman in a ankle length skirt and modest t-shirt.

I took some pictures over the last few days and though I would share them. I'll add more when I have more. Pictures tell just as good a story about Kuwait as I can.


Additional photos below
Photos: 74, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Cheesecake FactoryCheesecake Factory
Cheesecake Factory

in Avenues Mall
Me at The Cheesecake FactoryMe at The Cheesecake Factory
Me at The Cheesecake Factory

Haven't eaten there yet.
Glass CeilingGlass Ceiling
Glass Ceiling

Down the boulevard
Harvey Nichols Dept StoreHarvey Nichols Dept Store
Harvey Nichols Dept Store

It's not real gold.
Starbucks in Avenues MallStarbucks in Avenues Mall
Starbucks in Avenues Mall

All the Starbucks in the Gulf region are owned by the Al Shaya family. They also own this entire mall. They are very rich.
High Rent DistrictHigh Rent District
High Rent District

Entering the section of the mall with super expensive brands like Prada, Fendi, Armani, and Chanel
Changing LightsChanging Lights
Changing Lights

in the dome
Flowers in the centerFlowers in the center
Flowers in the center

of the high rent boulevard
Fendi DisplayFendi Display
Fendi Display

I think this was Fendi. It was a cool display.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb