North Cyprus - The Turkish Side!


Advertisement
Cyprus' flag
Middle East » Cyprus » Kyrenia
June 23rd 2012
Published: August 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

When I left Lorraine and Roxanne, I got on a bus headed for Lefkosia where I would cross over to The Turkish Republic of North Cyprus. I was very curious to see what it was like and how it differed from the Greek side. I will start by saying I preferred the Turkish side! I only stayed three days on my own, but it was so lovely and I had many chances to use my very limited Turkish.

I stayed at a beautiful hotel called The Ship Inn for 30 pounds a night. This was also a British package tour kind of place, but it wasn't really noticeable. My room was beautiful and clean with AC and a balcony overlooking the pool. It was easy to catch the dolmus (mini bus) into Kyrenia to see the harbour and walk around. There was also a big supermarket within walking distance and several restaurants. And a Gloria Jean's coffee! The pool and gardens are stunning and there's even a beautiful indoor pool and a gym. I would have to highly recommend this hotel.

My mornings were spent relaxing by the pool after a gorgeous Turkish breakfast, and in the afternoons I
Girne CastleGirne CastleGirne Castle

by the harbour
would take the dolmus into town. I walked around the habour and went to see the castle (12 euros). Pretty impressive as castles go. It was definitely used as a fort and at one time a lot of people lived inside those wall. The restaurants around the harbour and anywhere near the water were super expensive and surprisingly, catered to the Brits! The Turks are usually very reluctant to change their ways to accommodate the tourists. Instead they want people to experience their food, culture and way of life. But there were plenty of English breakfasts being advertised and lots of British pub food. I wandered away from all this and found a place where I could get a doner and a beer without breaking the bank. The place I went was near where the dolmus stops.

The Turks here were just as hospitable as the Turks in Turkey, but I felt they were less agressive. They were helpful and kind and everyone was working hard to make some money before winter comes and a lot of tourists leave. Just like Turkey.

I really enjoyed my three days here experiencing Turkish culture once again. I enjoyed it so much, I headed to Turkey for a few days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Aww, How SweetAww, How Sweet
Aww, How Sweet

From Gloria Jean's down the road from my hotel


12th October 2012

Supermarkets
I would like to know the names of the supermarkets on the Turkish side.
15th October 2012

Supermarkets in North Cyprus
Honestly, I cannot remember the name of the large supermarket near my hotel. I remember it was red. Probably not helpful. It was not a name I recognized from living in Turkey and it was not a European chain like Carrefour or Tesco, although one of those might be available in Kyrenia. I stayed just outside the city. Ask your hotel if they can recommend a supermarket near where you're staying. Sorry I couldn't be more help.
16th October 2012

Supermarkets in North Cyprus
The name of the supermarket I visited close to The Ship Inn is Lemar. I found a plastic bag today that had the name of it on it!

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 36; dbt: 0.1695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb