Aqaba, Wadi Rum & Petra by night


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » South » Aqaba
July 13th 2001
Published: August 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We went to the Port to get the Hydrofoil to Jordan. Lets just say, go to the toilet before you get there!

The man on the Hydrofoil wanted me to read out something in English for all of the tourists on board, but I was too shy.... I should have, would be something to talk about later on I guess.

We were met in Jordan by our tour guide Rabee. We found out that he had lived in Australia for a few years. On the way to Aqaba, I found myself just looking outside of the windows at the water. It was so clear, and I could see all kinds of cute little fish.

Later that night we all went down to the beach. I tried my first sheesha here with Charlotte. It was apple flavour, and I think that it was another highlight of the trip. Sitting on the beach, looking over at the lights of Eilat, Israel and smoking sheesha. I was addicted at that point.

I actually wanted to go to Eilat, but I didnt have a multiple entry Jordanian visa.

After chilling out on the beach for a while, some of us went for a walk to a hotel which had its own beach, and Rabee talked them into letting us go through to it. We ordered some drinks, and just chilled out.

The next morning we drove to Wadi Rum. It was some of the best desert scenery that I have ever seen. The different colours formed some spectacular sights. While we were out there, we visited a Bedouin campsite. It was pretty much some large pieces of wood that held up some sheets over it.... It was very nice though, and the people there were very friendly.

We then made our way to Petra via the King's Highway. I started to feel a little sick as we were approaching, because of all the winding roads.

Robin, David and I decided to go and see 'Petra At Night', at the lost city of Petra. The siq leading to the entrance way was lit up with candles, so it was nice during the 2km walk.

The show itself wasn't so interesting. There was an old man who just told us a historical story about the people who used to live there. After the show we went to Rabee's hotel and went to the rooftop to listen to some music and smoke some more sheesha. We didnt stay out too late though, as we had an early morning coming up.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0982s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb