Meeting someone you have never met yet have some things so much in common


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel
March 23rd 2009
Published: March 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Over this past year some of my friends on Otzma have been lucky like myself to have family and friends just go in and out of Israel like a revolving door. Tx has had 2 people so far and myself well lets just say my entire family not so much friends. I have friends here who have made aliah but my friends from the states are still in school and are either on their semester abroad else where other than Israel or just still taking a regular semester of classes.

So there has been a build up to this visitor fox since B left I decided to talk to fox and get to know some of Txs friends lama lo. She is apart of my life so why cant I get to know more people who have known her for a little longer. The scary thing is that fox and I have been through similar thing in our lives... a lot of similar things that are personal with boys, emotional things, as well as just we are very similar different animals but very similar. She landed on the 15th when we had a tyul met us up north.. kinda had an adventure because the bus that she was supposed to take stopped running after a certain time... but when she was finally reunited with tx and saw me .. instantly waved it was so nice.. but everyone else was so confused how she was already waving to me when she just "met" me even though it really was just putting a face to a person.

When we were in the north we were on a trip learning about the minorities of Israel. and more specifically the non Jewish minorities. We were learning about Israeli Arabs, Druze and the non Palestinian Arabs. It was very interesting we tried to get to understand their culture and what not but they still were being very defensive and protecting themselves because I think they felt like they were getting judged instead of looking at us as if we are curious and asking questions out of curiosity. We went on a hike and the north was absolutely gorgeous when we were there not rainy and just pretty. It is the end of the blooming time but all the flowers were scattered all over and it was just like a blanket of colors. Tx and fox and I hung out the entire time it was just like hanging out very good friends the whole time. Sadly I had to go back to rehov and work while the two of them were on vacation. I knew tho on thursday that we would be reunited and would go out.

It was perfect, we all stayed in the ta apt with La and we went out to a champagne bar that had tapas and then we went to an amazing fish restaurant goocha. I basically ate like a queen. It was awesome got grilled tuna as my main dish but had an awesome time. I tried seeing nadav and inbar but both were not free the time I was in Ta. Both of them give me shit I am never in the right city of Israel. I have to say tel aviv is not so intimidating anymore. When I first got here I was like a deer in headlights even if it was just walking around. LA, TX, fox and I had an awesome time. Foxs friend from undergrad who made aliah also met up with us it was so nice. We then met up with CO on friday morning and went to breakfast at Benedict's and had another great meal and low key time. LA and Co left for jlem to be at LAs adoptive family so we three stayed in the apt until fox left. It was so nice we had the key to the apt and just spent the rest of the day walking around nachlat benyamin. Awesome crafts fair will be going back and then we had rimon port (never had port before) best thing invented and also enjoyed something cuban.... right because I will never do that in America. This past couple days with fox and tx included somethings that I will never do again. It was pretty awesome.

it was really hard to see fox leave since I got to see someone experience Israel (even though it was in a mini version) enjoy it and have their world rocked. I know she will be coming back but it was so refreshing to see someone enjoy Israel like I did when I was 16 years old. I know fox is a little older but I am glad she now realizes she has a home here. Maybe if I get into IDC she will come visit me. FREEE housing.... oo lie. (yay transliteration)

After fox left tx and I enjoyed a low key weekend which included sleeping late, and walking to jaffa. It was awesome it was gorgeous we walked the entire tiyelet (boardwalk) all the way down to jaffa. We went to abu chasan chummus which is just like amazing. There is a line out the door just like serendipity in nyc and is all about the yelling factor. They write nothing down and just start screaming. It was great. It was about an hour walk to and from the apt to jaffa I felt great after.. I then ended up spending sat night just hanging out with LA,LA,NO,TX for the night and playing uno. A great ending to a very low key weekend. Orig I said I did not really want to travel but it was perfect.

I cant believe that this weekend is my last weekend in the rehov. Some of my volunteer places are sad that I will be leaving but some of them i cant wait to stop working there. This year is going so fast, it is the end of part 2 I have had to book my flight home and pesach vacation is here. Which I can not wait for but still where has this year gone. I remember when it was september 9th where I just moved into the Merkaz Kilitah in B7 and I was thinking did I really make this decision and can I do this really. Look I have made it 7 months in and is having a blast.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb