10 Days on Birthright


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel
January 8th 2008
Published: May 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Birthright 686

Places We Visited: Netanya Tel Aviv Mamshit Masada Dead Sea Ein Gedi Tiberias Golan Heights Safed Caesarea Hadera Jerusalem Beit Guvrin Jaffa

MasadaMasadaMasada

A still Israeli flag at the top of Masada
So I'm writing this entry nearly six months later, but I wanted to start the blog by cataloging past travels before I embark on new ones, so these first few back-dated entries will just provide the "set-up" so to speak. In this entry, I will rewrite/edit what I wrote in the journal that I kept for all 10 days. So bear with the potential randomness.

30 December
It's been a long trip, but I'm finally in Israel! It was a surprisingly good flight, despite the fact that I was in the MIDDLE seat of the MIDDLE section. But I liked my flight neighbors. It seems so surreal - being able to see Greece from the window was amazing. Alas, I am really tired from all of the traveling. But I have to pack a bag for the Bedouins. Today was just getting oriented to Israel. First, Orly's family and friends came to welcome us at the airport. It was really nice to see that. Then we drove along the fence dividing the Israeli and Palestinian territories on the way up to Netanya. Orientation was fun because we did it on the beach in a big circle. It felt like a
Western WallWestern WallWestern Wall

A woman praying at the Western Wall
Kumbaya moment.

31 December
We visited Tel Aviv today. We spent a lot of time in both Rabin Square and Independence Hall. I've begun to notice the Israeli bias, but it is definitely to be expected. We went to a mall right across the street from the beach. First we ate lunch, then we went to the beach (with warm, soft sand). We all took off our sneakers and socks and went into the Mediterranean Sea. It was amazing. At the camel ranch, I actually road a camel. Mine was a tad temperamental and I think asthmatic because I could feel his heavy breathing, but he made it. I'm proud of him. Afterwards, we went into the desert to find peace and solace. A little cold, but really quiet for some nice relaxation. When we got back to "civilization," we found out about Bedouin culture. The night continued with a nice Bedouin meal. Before the party for New Year's Eve, we played some word riddle games. Yep, being nerdy with Stanford and Miami (OH). Then there was an amazing party with lots of Euro Techno music and dancing. I <3 686!

1 January
It was a nice, long
Tel AvivTel AvivTel Aviv

The sunset over Tel Aviv from Jaffa
day. We woke up at 4 in the morning (after staying up a lot of the night) and had a quick breakfast then raced to Masada. We were the first bus to get there. We climbed up it the easy way to see the sunrise. We did a massage circle because we had a few minutes, and then missed the sunrise because it was cloudy. Our luck. Nevertheless, the view was breathtaking. And the echo we got from the top! We spent a lot of time there, then climbed down the difficult snake path. The $5 fresh-squeezed orange juice I got at the bottom was the best $5 I ever spent. Then, bu 10 in the morning, we were at the Dead Sea. It was a little cold a lot of salty. It took me a while to get in, but then I was grateful. There is no good way to describe the floating sensation. Then we used the mud. Still cool. Then the spa, which was the Dead Sea just overly heated that it stung...a lot. Following the Dead Sea, we went to the natural oasis of Ein Geddi. The foliage was great, the water falls breathtaking, and the
SafedSafedSafed

A wrought-iron Jewish Star in the streets of Safed
animals too cute. I might have missed some of the historical information, but me and Jessica were in the back of the pack and Orly taught us a song, even if we didn't remember it very well! Leaving Ein Geddi, we drove along the Jordan Valley with some pretty sweet views. Jordan is so close, yet so far. I intended to nap and then spend time with people, but I just went to sleep early. No wonder!

2 January
Another long day in Israel! We began with a nature hike near Tiberias. We were wading through streams shin-deep, so obviously we remained soaked for the entire day. But it rained later, so it wasn't as obvious? But how often do you do this in Israel!?!?! After the nature hike, we took a jeep tour of the Golan Heights. Still a good view. I was the only Georgetown kid in a jeep full of Stanford kids, but it was all alright. 😊 Upon leaving the Golan, we went to meet our soldiers. We did lunch in a mall, so I had to eat at an Israeli McDonalds, but it wasn't Kosher. 😞 Maybe later in the trip. We toured the holy city of Safed and the temples we saw reminded me of the Yemeni temples in New York - similar setup. The day was winding down, but we had an absolutely awful waste-of-time scavenger hunt in the Galilee area. Oh well. At least I was conspicuous as I fell asleep in the front row of a story-telling session!

3 January
We were on the road by 8. We went to the coastal city of Caesarea. The ruins were really cool. Orly used to work here, so we found a lot of her friends who still worked there. But we were in for an even greater surprise - lunch at Orly's house! Her mom, little brother, uncle, aunt, and best friend made food for 50 people, but they made so much that they could have served 100! It was nice to get a home-cooked meal. To make it better, there was an interesting lunchtime conversation with 4 Americans, Edan, and Nir...and lots of laughter. I really like our soldiers! After lunch, we stayed in her backyard singing songs, dancing, and taking pictures for the mayor. Apparently we're a big deal. The best line of the trip: "Welcome Home!" The day could have ended there, but it didn't. We continued to Jerusalem and had a party on the rooftop of the hotel. Our final adventure came after dinner - we went to an archaeological dig. It was pretty cool. Then we went spelunking through these caves, which was an awesome experience. Overall, a great day.

4 January
We began with a tour of the Old City. We saw King David's Tomb and the room of the Last Supper. It was a highly hilly walk. When we got to the Western Wall, I found it to be a powerful experience, just not what I was expecting. I didn't have that special moment. We continued on towards the Arab Quarter and market (but didn't actually go to the Arab Market). It was raining, but I made some nice purchases and had fun anyway. Within a few hours, we were at Shabbat and praying. Great service. Then we sat around as a kid played the guitar and sang. Finally, it was Edan's birthday, so we crowded 25 people into a room and played lots of "American" games. More fun than the bus rides!

5 January
The great thing about Shabbat is the relaxing. I woke up at 10:45, spent time in the hallway which sooned turned into 20 people. Havdallah was on the roof and dinner was on our own. We went to a really good dairy Kosher restaurant and then an ice cream store that Ayelet loves. It was good lasagna. Following our meal, we went to hear the founder of Taglit speak. Then there was our second party with lots of music and dancing. Good relaxing day!

6 January
We started the day at a workshop for old people. It was a great experience, and I even got an old lady to smile by helping a few other people (all Russians) recited Barmaley. Then I got to use a little French and a small polite conversation in Russian. It was a memorable experience. We followed this with a trip to Yad Vashem, which I found to be a let down. I think the DC museum is better, although the Children's Room was extremely powerful. The day concluded with the Mega Event - overpriced food and loud music. Then the main event with Gaya, whose songs we all knew! Sweet! We ended the evening with an all-out European disco. But then our soldiers left, so it was a sad day.

7 January
We began this day with a tour of Mount Herzl in the freezing cold. It was moving, especially the graves of those buried at 20. There was one soldier who died May 11, 2004, at 20. His parents decorated his grave and included a picture that I will remember forever. Then Dave and Shabat told personal stories that were powerful as well. After this, we drove to Tel Aviv. We had lunch in a mall, but who showed up but our soldiers! Apparently, they work across the street and planned on this for a while. It was a lot of fun seeing them again, even though it was just a few hours. Following Tel Aviv, we went to the Arab city of Jaffa, where we shopped in a flea market (another good bargain, with a pound from Dave) and crashed a few weddings. Hey, one of the couples wanted us in their picture! Told you we were popular! For our last night in Israel, we went to Ben Yehuda Street and just hung out. It was great.

8 January
The last early wake-up for a sad reason. We reenacted our orientation on the beach in the airport before heading through security. It makes me sad to see the Land of Israel left behind as I continue on home, but I will always keep the experience in my heart. I may forget conversations or specific events, but Israel is an experience that I'm grateful to have had. It may be thousands of miles away, but it will be with me no matter where I go!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 7; ; mem: 1.1mb