thanks


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
July 14th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So gonna get a little political here....

I'd like to say a big fat THANKS FOR NOTHING F***ERS to:
Iran for supplying Hezbollah with rockets and whatever else they want
Big Daddy Bush Sr and all his friends for giving Iran help and weapons and all that stuff back in their hay day. And I'm certainly no fan of W Bush Jr, but its not fault his daddy had to buy him into the president's job so he could clean up his daddy's mess. Which, in terms of Israel, he's actually doing a good job. Who woulda thunk it?
Syria for being just like Iran and supplying the terrorists groups in Lebanon and Gaza with weapons.
Hmmm i could go on, but those are the biggies.

I"d like to take a moment to pray for the safe return of the kidnapped Israeli soldiers, and for a quick end to this conflict.

Now, a mini geography lesson. Because most people reading this don't know much about Israel. And i have nothing else to do right now. hehe.

Israel is a tiny country on the mediterranean sea surrounded on all sides (except the sea, where many muslim/arabs want to push us) by several huge Arab/muslim countries. Its smaller than new Jersey, but a similar shape. It has the sea, the mountains, the desert, the blooming valleys. A bit of everything really.

So Lebanon is directly to the north of Israel. Israel was at war with lebanon and had a "cushion border" between the israeli and lebanon border for about 20 years or so. I think it started in 1982. And in 2000, Israel moved out of their "cushion border" since then there hasn't been too many problems with lebanon (always a couple small things for good measure). Now if you read carefully, the reason Hezbollah gives for starting this attack was to get Israel to release one of Hezbollah's imprisoned men. He is a terrorist who single handedly killed an entire israeli family in the town of Nahariya several years ago (went into their home and shot them). There were warning that hezbollah would attack to get this man freed recently. The timing with the kidnap of the israeli soldier in gaza is certainly no coincidence. This is all more than it appears to be.

But, back to geography. RIght above Lebanon is Syria, which is much larger, and has had its hands in controlling Lebanon for years. Directly to our east, is Jordan, which we have international relations with and a peace treaty (thanks president clinton). So, Jordan is ok. On the souther eastern border is the Sinai/Egypt, and we have a peace treaty and good relations with them too (thanks president Carter). So Egypt is ok. At the very top of the Sinai is the tiny little area called Gaza. Israel had been in Gaza for many years until last summer's disengagement, which so far seems a failure, because it has allowed Hamas to bomb and send rockets further inside Israel than they used to be able to. So those are the countries directly surrounding Israel. Look at the map I'm attaching to see where the other Middle Eastern Countries we all hear so much about are located, and see if you can find Israel! Its like a game, where's waldo?!

Oh, so my point in all this geography stuff, was to show you where I actually am in reference to what is going on. So Tel Aviv, where I am, and Jerusalem, which I will be going to in a few days, are in the center of the country. The stuff with Lebanon is in the north, and the stuff with gaza is to the south east. So where I am is the best place to be right now. I'll also attach a map of just Israel so you can see more detail.

So, enough politics and geography and history? Yeah, I think thats enough for today. If you even actually read this. And if you did, good job! Or as they say in hebrew "kol hakavod"!


Advertisement



14th July 2006

Hey Leah, I'm glad you let us know where you are in respect to all of this violence. You know how I am - I don't follow the news very well. But now that I have a friend over there I am much more interested in what is going on. I am making it a point to now try and understand what is going on in Isreal so that I will be a little more confident that you are ok over there. It's really weird now... all of this seriously catches my attention now (and for me - trust me - it's very weird) Anyway... keep safe and keep us informed as I know you will! :) Love ya!
16th July 2006

kepp your head down :)
Hi Leahpi We havnt seen each other for a few years. i am your uncle Bruces cousin and your Grandma's twins sister was my mother. Luckily, only Iran and Syria are supporting the Hezbollah...even Saudi Arabia has come out against them...however the longer this lasts the more likely some greater involvement.. Be Careful and Hi to your mom for me....let me know what you see there, I am really interested in this Howard

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb