Hello, Israel!


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
June 26th 2011
Published: June 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

In the StreetsIn the StreetsIn the Streets

The buildings in Tel Aviv are so different from the ones in Canada, and there are often cool little things to see if you look closely.
After nearly 30 hours of travel, I've made it safely to Tel Aviv and am relaxing at the hostel with Maija and our new friend and roomie Alitta, who is from Australia. Thankfully my voyage went really smoothly so when Maija met me at the airport I was all ready to settle into my stay in Israel.

Because it was Saturday afternoon when I arrived, most businesses were closed. It gave me a really good chance to wander around without and pressure or crowds. Most people that I've met so far have just finished their Birthright trips, including Maija and Alita, so many of them who were in groups together already know each other. The people I've met so far have been great for the most part, and it was fantastic to just hang out on the rooftop patio, drinking Goldstar and hearing all the stories of other peoples trips.

At night we decided to take a swim in the ocean, which was crowded and hot during the day. It was mostly deserted at midnight, so we had the whole beach to ourselves. Somehow we managed to avoid getting stung by jellyfish despite the total darkness in the water,
Party on the RoofParty on the RoofParty on the Roof

Maija and Alitta having a good time on the hostel's rooftop terrace with our new friends from around the world.
which I take as a good sign that this will be a great trip.

Today I've been focused on getting over my jet lag. My insides are on strike, refusing to digest any food between what it thinks is 1 to 5 am. The actual time, unfortunately, is perfect for breakfast. One piece of bread and half a cup of coffee left me nearly keeling over. The fact that I'll be over this feeling by the time the archaeological dig actually starts makes me really happy that I showed up a few days early.

I absolutely love it here in Israel, and I can't wait for more adventures to begin!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb