The first days of my travels...


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
February 2nd 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

My day in Tel AvivMy day in Tel AvivMy day in Tel Aviv

touring the beach of Tel Aviv
My father said that my updates were like watching the travel channel, so he gave me a great idea... I'm going to start sending updates and pictures whenever I can.

So yesterday I arrived into Rome after flying all night, the night before I left I only got 3 1/2 hours of sleep, of course I did too much, typical of me, but what can I say... And of course typical of me too is to pack too much (even though Dennis told me a couple of times to pack as light as I could), Dennis I wish I would have listened to you! What a pain in the ass, but because I was packing up my house too and was 90% done but not 100% done packing so I did not have anywhere to leave more stuff (no boxes). Anyway, also I did want to take my paints and Oneness materials and Oneness CD's and Badashts CD's so I have a bag that is too big and too much, but I'm here now and so happy (still not happy about having too much!

So I got into Rome at 6:00am having slept a little on the plane and very tired... Italy is sooooooo expensive, when I tried to change $40.00 into the Euro that woman said she would only be able to give me 7Euro's because of exchange rate and commission. So I decided to try to find a room for the day to sleep, I found the cheepest was 60 Euro's, so I decided to stay at the airport until my flight. I found a bench to sleep on and actually slept for 7 hours. I found a place that I could get online and it cost 13 Euro's which is almost $20.00 for less than an hour, Italy is is so expensive, oh my gosh! I'm going to have to find some really economical things things to do there, but I'm sure I'll be able to.

So at 11pm I got on a plane for Tel Aviv, the flight was 3 hrs and I slept the entire way, I have 3 seats all to myself and was able to lay down and really sleep. I got into my youth hostel at almost 4am, ready to sleep again. I took the "no jet lag" that you can purchase at whole foods and it seems to be working. The hostel is pretty rinky-dink, not very clean, but was so happy to able to be in a bed and actually had a down pillow (oh thank the lord for small blessings)... The room was cold, so I turned on the heater (or so I thought) and it continued to get colder and colder, finally I figured out that it was getting colder and it was actually blowing very cold air, I went down stairs and the night manager got me a small heater... I still froze most of the night, slept with me gloves and hat on, socks, everything I could find. When I got up in the morning the small portable heater was warming up the very cold room. So I woke up about 1pm, showered (the water never got any warmer than being warm, which was challenging cause I was already cold) but I got through it!

So I packed up for the day and headed for the beach... It was interesting because it really could have been any beach in southern California, it actually reminded me most of Hermosa Beach. So I spent the day on the beach, the sand here is hard like
My day in Tel AvivMy day in Tel AvivMy day in Tel Aviv

I would love to horseback ride on the beach, maybe someday...
Daytona Beach and the water was actually warm. I spent the entire afternoon on the beach praying, singing, listening to great music on my ipod (thanks Dad) and then I had a fantastic lunch on the beach - shrimp and one of the best Greek Salads I've ever had!

So here I am, online at the hostel and catching up with you all.

I'm getting ready to go and read and paint...

I love you all, Faith


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My day in Tel AvivMy day in Tel Aviv
My day in Tel Aviv

and the sun goes down
My day in Tel AvivMy day in Tel Aviv
My day in Tel Aviv

The ocean in Tel Aviv and Jaffa
My day in Tel AvivMy day in Tel Aviv
My day in Tel Aviv

There is a legend that if someone stands on the Wishing Bridge while holding onto their zodiac sign and looks at the sea, whatever he/she prays for will be granted! I bet you can't guess what I wished for???


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb