Losing Battles


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
January 31st 2008
Published: January 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

The past few days have been really stormy- we've lost power for 2-3 hours a day for the past two days while it's been snowing in Jerusalem. Last night I studied for my Ulpan test by the light of my computer because the power was out and I didn't want to walk all the way to the 24-hour coffee shop/restaurant where I spend a lot of time. The thing is, Coffee to Go is really close to my dorm, it was just miserable out.
My cell phone broke yesterday. I put my purse on a chair, my purse slid off the chair, my cell phone fell out of my purse and landed on the ground. It turned off and I tried to turn it back on but everything was backwards. Then it turned off and wouldn't turn back on. So I had to call Israel Phones and they dropped off a new one for me today. I had a nice talk with Moshe, one of our madrichim, while we waited for my phone. He told me about Israeli politics and the war in Lebanon and being in the army. Totally worth not having a phone for a day.
I'm also battling a major cold. My throat is really sore still and I've been really congested and it's been like this for about a week and a half now. It's pretty obnoxious.
Good news: I'm going to Istanbul in two weeks! A travel agency right near the college has a deal for the weekend right after Ulpan ends and the semester begins- a long weekend, 4 day 3 night excursion in Istanbul for $329, which includes airfare, a four-star hotel in the Old City, and rides to our hotel in Istanbul and to the airport when we leave. I know I mentioned it last time but I thought I would expand on it. I need to some research of cool places to go while I'm there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1012.6kb