The Journey Begins...with planning...


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » South District » Eilat
April 24th 2010
Published: April 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody! I am currently sitting outside at my house in Boulder, CO...not anywhere near the Middle East...yet! This Summer's trip has come around thanks to NFTY for accepting me as a staff member for one of their 2010 NFTY in Israel Summer extravaganzas. The program is a 5-week tour comprised of 10th graders from throughout North America. We will start in Prague, visit concentration camps in Poland, and spend the remaining 4 weeks in Israel. At this point, I know that I will be going, but that's about it. My orientation will either be June 15 or June 22 (in Israel) and any travel I get in will have to be done before this orientation.

My immediate travel interest was Egypt...and it remains so. However, I am still unsure of how much time I will have and what I really want to see. The most recent development in my planning has been a realization that I have a real and fervent interest in SCUBA diving...requiring certification. After researching SCUBA possibilities here in Boulder, I believe that it will make the most sense to complete both my Open Water and Advanced Open Water certifications in Eilat on the Red Sea in Israel. A company I have been speaking with offers a 1-week course for about $500 that covers absolutely everything necessary for these certifications, including 6 open water dives at different depths. By the end of the week, I will be certified to dive up to 30 meters (100 feet)...thus shaping my main activity for the rest of my time exploring the Sinai penninsula. Here is where I get confused about what my trip is going to be all about...SCUBA adventure or ancient history lesson?

After this first week in Eilat (possibly May 28-June 4), I will either have 10 or 17 days to explore Egypt. I hope to have 17. These are my two possible itineraries for each situation:

10-Day itinerary:
*Maximum 4 days SCUBAing in Sinai (Taba, Dahab, Nuweiba, Sharm)
*Ferry to Hurghada & Bus to Luxor
*1.5 days in Luxor
*Bus to Cairo
*3 days in Cairo/Giza

17-Day itinerary:
*Maximum 6 days SCUBAing in Sinai
*Ferry to Hurghada & Bus to Luxor: 1 Day
*Head South via Nile to Aswan & Abu Simbel: 2 days
*Move North along Nile visiting various sites, spending time in Luxor: 5 days
*Cairo/Giza: 3 days

So...a much more structured (and planned) trip than my last adventure you all so graciously followed along with...but I cannot wait for everything it has in store for me. (If you recall, the trip I had my first few weeks in Argentina was based completely on what travelers I met said was incredible) As I am still in the 'What do I really want to see' phase, so PLEASE let me know if you have any input on my travel plans at this point. Most of you understand that I have a slightly different traveling style than other people you may know, so keep that in mind when assessing what might be an incredible addition to my trip. I couldn't be more excited and hope all of you are healthy and enjoying yourselves!

Advertisement



25th April 2010

back in the saddle
sounds pretty exciting! hope it all comes together. I was in Egypt so long ago, it is hard to remember what to tell you to do. Cairo is /was very hectic and noisy, full of taxis, pull carts, camels and big cars! Very colorful. The pyramids and all the area around there is amazing; you will not miss much, I am sure. I am going to forward you an interesting video..have a ball. xo
25th April 2010

Can't wait to hear about this trip. I have no knowledge about anything in Egypt. One of the writers in my writing group is writing a book about the people of Egypt so every week she shows pictures of some people with a description of what they are doing e.g. riding a bike with fifty loaves of bread on their head. So, when you take pictures, consider taking them of the ordinary people of Egypt in their everyday life.
25th April 2010

looking forward to your blog updates; LOVED reading them from your last adventure! plans are fabulous, but remember to leave some time for spontaneity, you never know... happy b-day from the o's. eat cake!
26th April 2010

Prague
So does this mean you are going to Prague for sure?
27th April 2010

I'm excited for this upcoming adventure of yours J.Z. All of it sounds great!!! Just make sure you continue to blog so I can "travel" along with you. I love reading about your world adventures!
2nd May 2010

i wonder...
is this a strictly solo venture...? ab

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb