“Roman” Around Israel


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » North District » Golan
August 15th 2007
Published: August 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After breakfast we left Tel Aviv to travel north to the ancient city of Caesarea, once the seat of Roman rule in the Middle East, built around 40 BC by Herod the Great: a Jewish king. It’s obvious that Herod had quite an ego based on the size of his port. He created a magnificent Roman city including an amphitheater, gymnasium, baths, a huge artificially protected port and a sophisticated water system that flowed from a spring 18 miles away. We even had a chance to wade through an excavated section of the underground water tunnel.

We ate lunch in the quaint clean town of Zichron Ya’akov and visited the home of a Jewish 007 (a spy ring for the British in1917).

We are spending the night in a hotel on Kibbutz HaGoshrim… the Catskills of the Golan Heights… complete with a buffet dinner and a Hebrew lounge singer.

Josh
OOH I had to wake up at 6:30 AM. Then I stuffed myself silly with egg whites, slimy pears, lots of orange juice and two apple strudels. Speaking of that we learned about vomitoriums today… those at the entrances of the huge Roman amphitheater at Caesarea along the
Mediterranean Sea.

Then we hiked through a water tunnel. The water was up to my waist but I didn’t care because the water was cool compared to the 100 degree weather outside. And then I finished the day as we started stuffing my face with dinner.
😊 😊

Marisa:
We have been having a ton of fun! Every day there is soooooooooooo much to do with the tour group. There r some really nice people in the group. The food is
A-MAZING. I really wish I had my phone w/ me, I miss u soooooo much and the only person to talk to is josh, = /, lol. I am taking TONS of pictures. We have been to some really interesting places. I really like it here but I miss everybody so much.

<3333333333333333333333333


Advertisement



Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.049s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb