The Trek to school...


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
January 27th 2006
Published: January 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, after my adventures wandering around the OC alone (the Old City, that is... Inside the Wall, if you didn't know) I went back to my Hotel and all...

Then the next day I checked out of my hotel and was going to catch a cab to JUC. HOWEVER, I talked to the guy at the Front desk, Joseph, who told me that the cabs only come to Jaffa Gate. Well, in case you weren't aware, my hotel was 'right' inside the New Gate. That's the NW corner of the Old City. Well Jaffa gate is approximately halfway between the New Gate and JUC. Now, being the logical person that I am, I thought this through.
1. I drag my two huge suitcases to the Jaffa Gate and get a cab to take me the rest of the way. or 2. I just walk the whole way to JUC.

Well, what do you think I did? Of course, I just dragged my bags (one at a time) to JUC. So, on my first trip I brought one bag over here, but I couldn't figure out where to go in. The gate was locked, and so I figured there was another door because they were expecting students to arrive this day! So, I dragged my 50 pound bag down wet stone steps only to find.... NO door! Haha

So I dragged my bag back up these (very many) steps, and went up another small stone staircase. Yeah, no door there either.
Then I came back DOWN the steps to the original gate, and then I saw someone inside! It was one of my prof's wife, who also works here! So she let me in. Then I had to drag my bag up the FOREVER long staircase to my room.
THEN I of course needed to go back to my hotel by the New Gate to get my OTHER bag, and the process started all over again! Only this time I had a key to the gate, and could avoid the wet stone stairs. However, right when I left for the New Gate, it began to pour! So Here I was, the only blonde haired, blue eyed, white girl in the city dragging my suitcase through the rain while all of the locals were waiting under bridges and overhangs for the rain to let up. Yes, I am captain cool.

The first day on campus was very fun. My roommate didn't get here until the next day (the 28th). I went out for pizza with a couple of the students that were already here (all five of us). It was great. This Pizza place, Rami's pizza has probably the best pizza I've ever had. I'm not joking! It's REALLY good, and it's cheap too! We go there a lot. They know us there, and we have such fun. It's in the Old City (the Jewish Quarter). Usually food is more expensive int he Jewish quarter, but this place isn't.

I think I like the New City better than the old city. The Old City is interesting, but it's a bazaar-type shopping experience. The owners call out to you to come in, and as a girl, we're not supposed to talk to them or look at them. It always feels rude and is tiring for me. The New City is just so much fun!

I have to head out now, but I'll update more later! Bye!

Advertisement



31st January 2006

Fun times
Sounds like you're acclaimating yourself to the area just fine. Keep having a blast and enjoy not having to deal with snow!
15th February 2006

im so proud of your bag expertise!
hey shannonon i hope everything is going well for you i miss our talks ! i will try to keep in touch through your nifty site here! stay safe! i love you!
16th February 2006

Sounds like a ton of fun
I still can't believe that you, are in ISRAEL!!! Well, keep updating and let us all know how it's going. I miss you! Have fun!
18th February 2006

below 11 degrees
It is 11 below in Chaska! I need to find someplace that penguins will not feel at home in. I am having fun writing short stories and avoiding doing any serious homework over here. Wish I was traveling Europe instead. Hope you are having fun, you must take alot of pictures to show. Have a blast !

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb