The Old City


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
January 26th 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Israel late on the 25th of January. I then crashed for the night, only to be awoken by a little Muslim boy kicking a car parked outside of my window, making the alarm go off. Hehe...

I went into the Old City and wandered around for a bit. Well, for about three hours. I saw the Tomb of David, the Church of dormition, and a few other random sites that I bumped into. I spent about a half an hour taking with some old man, but I had convinced him that I spoke no English. Heh heh heh. He knew jsut a tiny bit less Russian than I know, but it was effective. I could string together enough intellegent sentances (or almost intellegent sentances) to get by. Hehe... It was great fun!

Then Jet Lag finally caught up with me and I slept for a LONG time! About five hours or so, completely missing lunch and dinner. Whoops! :-D

Then I went down to the reception area of my hotel and had some coffee with the receptionist there. He told me about the city and life in Israel and all of that jazz. His cousin came to the hotel to visit him. He's a police and he let me hold his massive gun. That was pretty sweet.

That's about all that happened on the 26th of January! I'll put some pictures with this one! How exciting!

Advertisement



29th January 2006

Hey Shann, Sounds like you're having a pretty awesome time!! Are you just running around and doing all these things by yourself?? haha. . . I think I'd be to freaked out to do something like that. Sounds like it's working for you though. Hope you continue to have a great time!!
29th January 2006

Wow!
Boy, are you going to have stories! That was quite an adventurous day!! I'm glad that you made it safe and sound : ) ~Rachel
30th January 2006

Whoops!
Shannon, I blew the last message by clicking on 'enter' to quick.. hahaha... I am enjoying your dailey entries and the pictures. How neat, that we get to travel with you in this way. I am sending this web site to Pastor Shepson, because he will so enjoy the pictures and your experiences traveling through Jerusalem. Love you. Nana and Grandpa

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb