Harmony in the Middle East


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
November 20th 2005
Published: November 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Poike!Poike!Poike!

Chicken, Garlic, Taters, Yams, Carrots, Peppers, Zucchinis, Soy Sauce, Beer, Wine, Terriaki Sauce, 3 hours. Serve hot with beer-in-a-bottle on the side.
Does the above thing exist? It seems to in the Old City of Jerusalem.

Yup, I'm back in Israel, and back in Jerusalem. I decided to ditch my Israeli friends and take a day to myself in the old city, where the Jewish, Muslim, Christian, and Armenian quarters all meet. I've seen orthodox Jews wandering the streets with their 8 children or more, I've seen Israeli-Arab's (Muslims) selling their raw cow hides, knick-knacks, tee shirts, and chessboards, I've seen Christians with their heads pressed down on The Stone of the Anointing, (the place where Jesus' body was prepared for burial), and Armenian Churches with odd lettering that I cant read at all.

I came to Israeli by way of the Egyptian-Israeli border in Eilat/Taba. I made it through the border's security check A-OK but the two guys I met on the way there were held up for 2+ hours, freaky. I was waiting for them for half an hour outside the border station, and one soldier came up to me and told me that I should just go.

I found a cheap nice hostel in Eilat for 10 bucks a night, and there was a TV in the
Leeron, Gal, and Adam cliffsideLeeron, Gal, and Adam cliffsideLeeron, Gal, and Adam cliffside

All the things. To Drink something cold in the Heart of the Desert. Kol ha'inyan. Lishtot mashehu kar b'lev midbar.
room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I hadn't seen TV for so long, like 2 weeks that the episodes of Saved By The Bell 'The Later Years' were awesome. Screech was the main character (the show lagged many years too long). And the Polish sports report was really informative, too.

The next day I met with my Israeli friends 1 hour from Eilat, and we decided to go camp-out for a night. We brought a fat iron pot, and cooked a chicken, rice, veggie, beer, and wine dish on hot coals for 3 hours. WOW! Poike, its called. WOW! munchable for sure. We just kicked in the desert, made food, listened to music and sang along, played cards, smoked the unadulterated nargila (flavored tobacco), and waxed poetic.

Now, back in Jerusalem after a 4 hour bus ride, I found a hostel at 11 pm last night (I was worried there for a moment), and spent the day wide-eyed and wondering.

I'm off to meet with a former camper of mine from the states, who is studying here in Jerusalem, and will for 4 years, daaaaaaaamn.

Peace in the Middle East.

Gadi



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Jesus!Jesus!
Jesus!

The Stone of the Anointing, believed to be the place where Jesus' body was prepared for burial
Halleluyah, Gawd Almighty!Halleluyah, Gawd Almighty!
Halleluyah, Gawd Almighty!

Western Wall and Dome of the Rock


20th November 2005

Finally sending ya something
Gadi, Thanks for putting all this stuff up on your BLOG. It's great being able to see all the pictures and reading all your stories. Sorry I haven't been able to send ya anything since you've left. Life has been crazy. From traveling so much for my training program for the bank and now finally planning to move back to San Francisco, it's all helter skelter... sounds like you're having a blast! That's pretty awesome that you and London were able to meet up. Give a holler when you get back to the state...and who know's maybe I might even be back in Cali too!
3rd November 2008

were can i find this song All the things. To Drink something cold in the Heart of the Desert. Kol ha'inyan. Lishtot mashehu kar b'lev midbar? what is the name of the singer?

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb