Esphahan the Fair


Advertisement
Iran's flag
Middle East » Iran » West » Esfahan
May 23rd 2006
Published: May 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The trip to Esphahan was initially uneventful, an early start was required as we had 500km to cover, Hassan drove like a maniac as he had to be in Isfahan at a certain time. Just after the Yadz turn off he got a call from the agent saying the stupid American's wished to fly to Yazd instead and should be at the airport to collect them at 3pm.

Well there was no way in hell he could take me to Esphahan and then pick them up on time and for a moment I thought I would be unloaded on the roadside. This did not happen over the course of 3 or 4 days I have found him to be a kind and honest person and believe we have developed a true friendship, he proceed to drive 400km out of his way for no financial remuneration to take me to my Hostel. I will send him something when I get home.

Yes it is a hostel one of the few in Iran and its ok, its nice to talk to a few younger western travellers as I have seen very few so far. After check in I headed down to the Armenian Quarter at Jolfa, these people were moved here hundreds of years ago as the Shah needed their business accumen back in the 17th century, they have their own cathedrals and churches, they look like mosques with crosses on top. I also wandered along the river and visited the 500 year old bridges.

Esphahan is truly a beautiful city, with the river and the shady beautifully maintained gardens it reminds me a lot of Adelaide near the Torrens, but much bigger and more impressive.

Spent today wandering the bazaar's trying to decide what to buy the artists are great the prices good, there is just too damn much too choose from, but I have bought a few nice things.

After a nap around mid afternoon when everything shuts down, I went to take some photo's of Islam's prettiest mosques, I ended up getting cornered by three young lads wanting to practice their English and learn about other cultures, I think I learned as much about theirs as they did about mine a pretty relaxed day really.

I hope to move on tomorrow.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Khaju BridgeKhaju Bridge
Khaju Bridge

Crossing the river
Armenian QuarterArmenian Quarter
Armenian Quarter

Entrance to Vank Cathedral
Armenian QuarterArmenian Quarter
Armenian Quarter

Vank Cathedral
The boysThe boys
The boys

Aspiring Metalurgists and romeos


24th May 2006

nice pic with your boyfriends
I knew it wouldn't take you long to adopt middle eastern ways. You really should have been born in the days of Socrates.
25th May 2006

Mind boggling!
OK I'll never query your choice of destinations again!Fantastic photography and really interesting geography/history lessons. Got a new Peter Moore book and it's probably the best and most readable of his. Travels in Iran really good. Seems you're quite safe! Keep happy - Jill
2nd January 2007

Great to see Esphahan again!
I lived there through my early teen years, until the revolution. I loved it. I loved the people, generous and kind, I loved the country, beautiful and somehow sad, yet so proud, I loved the food! I miss Iran! I've often dreamed of meandering through the bazaar! lol! I used to skip school (the American school of Isfahan) and go there! lol! I really miss it sometimes!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb