All is in readiness


Advertisement
Europe
October 23rd 2012
Published: October 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

October 23 Tuesday – Morning - I just finished downloading 3 Lonely Planet guidebooks in PDF format into my laptop. They are running a 3 for the price of 2 books right now. So I downloaded Italy, Greece, and Great Britain for $39.18. I had previously downloaded France and Europe on a Shoestring before I noticed the special. I could have gotten 3 for 2 then……but oh well…..nothing to be done about it now.

All is in readiness for jumping off tomorrow morning. I’ll fly out of Easterwood in College Station on the American Eagle. I’ll fly to Dallas/ Ft Worth and then to Chicago to transfer again for the hop across the Atlantic. That’s the only part of my trips I dread the most…..riding those cramped cattle cars on the flight to Europe. There and back.

I think after this trip I am going to make a real effort to find an economically feasible alternative to air travel to Europe. Seems like there ought to be a ship that goes there other than expensive cruise ships ,or container ships that will take passengers in low priority after freight. Especially as in my case since I am retired and time is not an issue of any consequence.

I took out the Instant Immersion Italian disk again today and put it in my laptop and again couldn’t make heads or tails of it so put it back in its Ziploc bag and stuck it into my suitcase. I guess I will take a look at it again later.



Evening – Been a good day. I took care of a few things and then my sister Annette came home from work and so my brother Danny and I went to Wal Mart and I got a few final things and some stuff for Mom. Annette fixed up stuffed bell peppers for supper.

I had Apple Pie and Blue Bell Ice cream for dessert…..so I guess that is the last Blue Bell ice cream for me for a bit.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb