Touring London


Advertisement
Europe
May 26th 2012
Published: May 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Notting HillNotting HillNotting Hill

Tube stop!
Little late on beginning my blog, but I am finally getting started. London so far has been...thrilling! I wake up excited for each day to begin because I'm not exactly sure of where my journey will take me each day. Today, my roommates and I woke up and decided to take the Tube (the train) to Notting Hill, which is on a street that is shut down on the weekends and is called Portobello. On this street, there are many antique shops. At the end of the strip of small shops, there is a large food market. Afterwards, the 3 of us grabbed lunch and drinks and rode the tube to Hyde Park. I would say that the weather was absolutely gorgeous, but that would be an understatement. After we finished our meal, we lied in the grass and soaked in the sun.

That was my favorite moment of the day.

Hyde Park is the largest park in central London. There are intricate-looking fountains and statues all throughout the park. Most of central London was lying out in the grass. I felt blessed to be there, exactly where I was lying in the grass. It was perfect.

After
Notting Hill MarketNotting Hill MarketNotting Hill Market

These pastel homes aligned the streets and surrounded the people of Notting Hill
we finished Hyde Park, we rode the tube to Picadilly Circus, a stop located near London's most famous department stores - Harrod's and Harvey Nichol's. We toured around these two department stores for a bit, both of which felt like a museum. I was told by one of my roommates that the richest people in the world shop at these two stores. In Harrod's, they have everything from designer clothing for children to a pet shop on the top floor.

In London, there are so many new things to try and exciting places to see and interesting people to meet. That is what I love about living here. Every day, every moment is the beginning to a new adventure.

I plan to keep up with my adventures in London (and possibly elsewhere) from here on out -- stay tuned!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Street MusicStreet Music
Street Music

We found these two Brits playing Beatles' covers for their fans on Portobello
Hyde ParkHyde Park
Hyde Park

View from our park bench :)
Peter Pan Statue!Peter Pan Statue!
Peter Pan Statue!

Never grow up!
Cheese Please!Cheese Please!
Cheese Please!

Gouda, Gouda
Harrod's Desserts!Harrod's Desserts!
Harrod's Desserts!

For the Queen's Jubilee!


Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb