You're expected to gain 10 pounds after a semester in Italy...right?


Advertisement
Europe
January 30th 2012
Published: January 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

FOOD. FOOD. FOOD. There is a reason that when you think Italy one of the first things you think about here is food. Did you know that because of past events Italians take most pride in their soccer team, their art, and their ability to make fantastic food? I learned that in my food cultures class, which is probably the best class that I have ever taken. Scratch that, it IS the best class I have ever taken. Last week we tried the differences between three different olive oils (olive oil is a huge thing here, for those of you who didn't know that). I was feeling a bit under the weather that day for one reason or another, so I couldn't exactly enjoy that tasting. However, I feel the need to apologize to you, Dad. For every time that you ordered eggplant parm at a restaurant and I made a disgusted face at you. Today we had an eggplant tasting, melanzane in italian. I prefer to say melanzane now because if you think about it, anything called eggplant just doesn't sound appetizing. Anyway, we tried three differently prepared eggplants and all three of them were delicious! It is awesome how this place is opening me up to new things. Although sometimes, it isn't all good. I went to dinner with my roommates to a place called Dal Mi Cocco which is really popular for it's delicious 5 course meals. Unfortunately, with the second round of food, I found out that my stomach does not enjoy chick peas. I assume I am allergic due to the fact that I literally couldn't eat anything for the rest of the night. Probably the worst 15 euro I have ever spent, considering I only got to eat five chick peas and some cheese covered bread. BUT, nevertheless I have bounced back from that and am now on a food hunt! I am excited to try new things! I can now officially say that I like cappuccino. I have had two already today! haha That probably isn't the best life choice but hey, when in Italy, right? I feel like I eat so much food here, probably because everything is delicious and I must try it all. So if I come back slightly chubbier I am expecting no jokes! Because you know you would do the same if you were here! If ever there was a time to indulge without feeling guilty, it is when you live in Italy. Hold up, LIVE IN ITALY. Wow, that sounds crazy, but it's happening! Back on topic, me gaining ten pounds? Yea, that will probably happen haha.

So during the week I mostly just stay at school. On Monday's I am done with classes at 130, but we don't have internet in the apartment so I am always doing research on places to go and whatnot when I am here at Umbra. But today there was a little twist! Jules and I went to have some cappuccino with our old man friend Gianni and we stayed and talked with him for an hour! His shop is so little, but he bought us our drinks from the cafe next door and we sat in the little shop and chatted and attempted to talk italian for the longest time. He gave Jules and I the normal chairs while he sat on the tiniest little fold up chair I have ever seen! I felt so bad! I thought he was going to fall and break a hip, which slightly worried me the whole time I was there. But eventually I feel that I will eventually buy something from his leather shop. He has some nice things. From what I have seen he has some nice belts, bags, and sweaters for men. I will have to explore that a little further.

Even though there are some really awesome things that are going on around here, there are certain things that I am really sad that I am missing this spring. For example, I hear Brendan has a solo in the Elks Show this year singing Red Solo Cup. When I found this out I absolutely died. Brendan. My brother. Singing. ALONE?! On stage for the world to see?! hahahahahahha. What a champ. I am so mad I am missing that but I hope he knows that I literally got my whole apartment to enjoy that song. I almost have all the words down, which I take pride in considering it is pretty much a country rap song. hahah red solo cup! (uh huh) i fill you up! hahah its poetry to say that least :p

Other things like my mom's birthday this week and Easter and spring break at home are all things that are hard to miss, but at the same time I always remind myself that all of that will be there when I get home and that I have to take advantage of this opportunity while I can. I have such a strange feeling over me sometimes, I find myself missing things that I didn't even realize were important to me at home. Like how I miss the feeling of driving on the roads that I would drive on everyday. Not even the feeling of driving, just being on those familiar roads. I guess that is what homesick feels like but I feel like that is such a strong word. Homesick. I don't know, I guess I have always seen that as a sign of weakness that I never really understood. I was always confused to why someone would be thinking about a place that they always are instead of experiencing where they were at the time and taking in the new experience. I always made fun of my brother for coming home every weekend from PSU, he would always show up and I was always like "really? you are here again? ...why?". You might think that is a little mean, and as I write that I admit it does sound mean but my intentions weren't mean (okay, maybe a little like that brother-sister kind of playful mean) but mostly I was just confused. I mean he went to one of the biggest party schools in the country and he is choosing to be in Mount Bethel of all places for the weekend?!? As a high school kid, I was super confused. But being here, and being aware of the fact that I just can't go home. I can't go to that comfort right now, I now understand it. I understand that "homesick" feeling, if that is what I am feeling. I am not saying that I am gonna hop the next plane to Philly because I miss my puppers and homemade brownies, but I will admit that I am missing home more than expected. But then again, I was trying to fool myself by saying that I wouldn't get homesick at all. I guess it is just that comfort and safety that I miss occasionally. The familiarity of things, the belonging. Having deep relationships with people and being able to take a bubble bath.

But listen to me, am I really talking about missing bubble baths when I am in Italy? One of the most beautiful places in the world? The place where I am sure anyone else reading this would rather be. I am not going to lie, for those of you who are thinking about studying abroad but don't know if you should, DO IT. I know you have heard people say that before and I am sure that you have heard people say that if you don't do it you will regret it for the rest of your life and honestly, you probably will. I have been here three weeks and I am already changed by this experience, in a good way of course. If you are worried about the money, if you are scared to leave home, if you are afraid of change...don't let those things hold you back. Fears are just obstacles holding you back from experiences that you will remember for the rest of your life. Good or bad. No one ever made history by sitting on the couch and wondering if there is more to life out there. I assure you, there is more. I know because I am living it right now! I don't mean to sound preachy but from personal experience I can say that anyone who is fortunate enough to have the opportunity to expand their horizons and study abroad, for the love of god do it! And I am not going to lie to you, there will be obstacles. There will be people who say it's too dangerous, and their will be people who try to stop you by making you feel guilty about going. That happened to me. It'll happen to you. But I swear, once you land wherever you are going, once you start to meet people from all over the world, once you experience things that you could have never dreamed of experiencing inside your comfort zone, none of the negative influences will matter. It's worth it, I swear. And for those of you that look at the pictures on facebook and look up information on google, I hope you don't think that studying abroad is all about pretty sunsets and drinking. To break it down for you studying abroad is about being uncomfortable. It's about stepping outside of your comfort zone and doing things that you could never or would never do at home. It's about learning, and growing as a person. If you are lucky you might even gain a little confidence while you are at it. Sure you see beautiful places and you go out to bars at nights, but even when you do that, you are constantly learning. My Dad is one of the smartest people I know, and he has been around the world. That may not be why he is smart exactly but I guarantee that he is better off for it. Anyway, my point is, if you have the opportunity, TAKE IT. Don't let it pass you by. I have been here a little over three weeks and I can already tell you that it has been the best decision that I have ever made for myself. I know it is expensive and I know getting there would be hard work but in the end, the money and the time are well worth it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb