Random side notes about Spain


Advertisement
Europe
July 13th 2011
Published: July 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Random side notes about Spain:

There always seems to be a negative odor around..I don't know why yet. Clearly in Pamplona it was because people were living in the streets.
There are tons of roundabouts so it is just like home..except there are stoplights on alot of the roundabouts which I find very interesting.
All of the spanish stores play American/english music. I don't know why..but I am looking forward to going out in Barcelona to hopefully hear some spanish music!
The sun here, like at home, doesn't set until around 10pm but that is okay because we don't eat dinner until 10pm every day.
All of the "emergency exit signs" are green with a man running and an arrow. I wonder if this makes for more chaos because everyone thinks they should be in a sprint in case of emergency. Also lifeguard shirts and emergency areas read "SOS"
We watched a movie with our seƱora called 11-M for the 11 of March which was a terrorist attack on the metro system in 2004 because spain went into Iraq with the US. I can't believe the lack of security here compared to the US...they obviously must feel safer here. It wasn't probably the best 2 night program to watch the day before we went on our train to Pamplona and were taking the metro around.
I love the bag I got to carry my books and IPAD around in Spain. It is like a Mary Poppins bag because on our excursions it holds little and seems small, but on longer trips or to class it can hold everything!
I Love not having any humidity!
We watched "sobrevivientes" which is the spanish version of Survivor.
The television tells you how long each commercial will be..it says "volvemos en 2 minutos" o "volvemos en 38 segundos" We will return in...
Taxi drivers drive cars like Mercedes and Audis (olivia you'd appreciate it)
There is beer in the vending machines (Amstel light that tasted like it was from one thousand years ago. . tried it in Pamplona)
Met a guy in Pamplona at our hotel who lives in Wilmington, NC (where I want to live) and has a roommate on my favorite TV show==OTH = One tree hill. Also says, "mouth" a character on the show..in real life roofies girls at the bars..that is sad.
Elizabeth said "living here is like man vs. wild" haha.sometimes it really is since we don't know all that much about how they live and all of a sudden something crazy happens..but unfortunately for her, the house she lives in has 3 cats & there is always cat hair in the food. disgusting.
Which is another thing..Spainards seem to be a lot dirtier than what I am used to. The kitchen is very dirty so I try not to think about..I don't know what my reaction would be if I saw a bunch of cat hair from the cat at my casa (Bette). Not eat. That would be my reaction.
Oh I apparently ate pig liver one night. They bring us free tapas (appetizers) when we order sangria every night and one of tapas I found out the next day was pig liver...hmmm interesting.. it was pretty good.
So many people on our trip are very ignorant. They really do not know anything and do not care to learn anything either. It is becoming very frustrating because I would like to tell them to just leave the trip and plan their own. If you do not want to experience the culture or anything positive, then why did you come on a study abroad program? You knew what you were getting yourself into. Stop being so obnoxiously American and experience what Spain has to offer. So ridiculous. Everyday I am flabbergasted by the actions of some of the people on our trip.
I miss the smell of my clean clothes because my house has it's own loving smell and I don't want to smell this place when I put on a Tshirt to sleep I want to smell my house blah

That is all for now :] more to come as always because this trip is constantly entertaining and providing life experiences like none other.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb