Bratislava, Slovakia


Advertisement
Slovakia's flag
Europe » Slovakia » Bratislava Region » Bratislava
May 15th 2006
Published: May 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bratislava CastleBratislava CastleBratislava Castle

What every respectable European city needs...
So I am officially on my way back home, I’m just taking the scenic route. I said my farewells to Croatia on Sunday and headed north. To be honest I had grown quite attached to Zagreb, and it was a bit sad leaving. I believe that in my travels so far, Croats have been the friendliest bunch of people I have had the pleasure of coming across. I am also going to miss my “Zagreb Breakfast”, bijela kava (white coffee) and cherry strudel.

I am currently basing myself in Vienna. The train ride up was a pleasant one if not a tad long about 6 hours in all. The scenery was great almost the whole way up, there were deer in many a Slovenian meadow and once we crossed over into Austria beautiful mountains and green valleys. I spent the time counting abandoned castles on hilltops. (8 in all).

I actually spent my first real day in Vienna not even in Vienna or Austria for that matter. On Monday I decided to go on a little daytrip. Originally I was going to go to either Prague or Budapest, but after spending all day Sunday on the train I didn’t want to do it again on Monday. So I opted for something much closer and off the beaten path. Bratislava, Slovakia is only about an hour from Vienna and is Prague and Budapest’s underrated and undertouristed cousin. It is the capital of Slovakia and sits near the border of Austria and Hungry right on the Danube.

I knew I was going to immediately like Bratislava when I went to get my train ticket and it only cost me 5 euro for return. I think for the entire day I only spent another 5 euros and that included lunch, attraction admissions, a couple of bottles of water, and public transport.

Once I arrived in Bratislava I got a map and set out for the Bratislava Castle. On the way there I passed the Presidential Palace and just happened by sheer luck to arrive right before they started the Changing of the Guards. It was interesting as the guards were in what I assume to be in the National Slovakian Dress. Anyway I kind of felt sorry for the guys, because I was the only one standing at the gate and taking pictures. I remember when I was in London to watch their Changing of the Guards and you had to fight for a place just in order to see them.

After the Changing of the Guards I set off for the Castle again, but of course as usual got lost. At least I got lost in the historic center so it was quite a pleasant walk. On my detour I did come across Bratislava’s Town Hall otherwise known as the Primate’s Palace. It is very impressive and very pink.

I finally found the castle; the problem was I could see it, I just couldn’t figure out how to actually get to it. The castle was originally built way back in the early 900s. Unfortunately the current castle is probably best considered a reconstruction as I don’t think any of the original still exists it has been destroyed so many times. It is very pretty though and is right on the Danube. The view however isn’t that spectacular as you mainly get a view of Communist era buildings.

After sightseeing I found a café, had a cup of coffee and people watched a bit. I didn’t have too much trouble with the language as I found
Changing of the GuardChanging of the GuardChanging of the Guard

I do like the plumes though...
that many words were similar to Croatian. I am beginning to wonder if my time overseas has done a number on my accent. Everybody keeps asking me if I am German. Must be the accent or the Birkenstocks (though it is not like I am wearing socks with them or anything). Tomorrow, the famous White Lippizans of the Spanish Riding School, and the rest of historic Vienna.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Changing of the GuardChanging of the Guard
Changing of the Guard

Wonder if the sunglasses were part of the orginal uniform? lol
Pretty in PinkPretty in Pink
Pretty in Pink

The Primate's Palace
Nice ViewNice View
Nice View

The View from the Ramparts on Bratislava Castle
Castle from the GardenCastle from the Garden
Castle from the Garden

Castle from the Garden
St. Michael's Gate and TowerSt. Michael's Gate and Tower
St. Michael's Gate and Tower

Built in the 1300s, it was an orginal fortification for the city.


15th May 2006

me
thanks again for the great shots ,but when are you comeing home ,,lol jh

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 37; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb