Horsing Around in Vienna


Advertisement
Austria's flag
Europe » Austria » Vienna » Vienna
May 16th 2006
Published: May 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Started the day very early, checked out of my hostel and headed for the train station to put my big backpack in storage. I then jumped on the Metro and headed to the Hofburg, the residence of the Habsburg Monarchy for hundreds of years. It was originally begun in the 1200s, but everybody added onto it after that. It is also currently home to the Lipizzaners of the Spanish Riding School and the Vienna Boys Choir.

After a quick stop at Starbucks (I couldn’t resist it has been ages since I have had a frapachino) I made my way to the Spanische Reitschule (The Spanish Riding School) for their morning exercise. They only hold formal performances once or twice a week, but you can watch them exercise and do some light training in the morning. The morning exercise is to music and while you don’t see them do the above ground moves, which they are famous for, you can still see some high-level dressage. The horses themselves are absolutely gorgeous, as is the Winter Riding Arena, which is where they train and perform. Unfortunately no pictures were allowed of the horses, so you’re just going to have to use your
The Winter Riding ArenaThe Winter Riding ArenaThe Winter Riding Arena

Where the horses perform and train, there is quite a lot of detail in the design, though it is not that big.
imagination with this one.

After the performance I grabbed a quick lunch and headed back to the Riding School for the stable tour. They give one in both English and German, and take you into the stables for a closer look at the horses themselves. The one thing that did surprise me is that the Lipizzaner are quite small, they only stand between 15-16 hands.

I explored a bit more of the Hofburg, and toured the imperial apartments where the Emperor and Empress used to live and saw the royal jewels. After the Hofburg I walked down a bit and had some coffee and chocolate at this place called Demel. Apparently Demel was once a chocolate maker for the Habsburgs themselves and I have to say it did taste pretty good. I then wandered down to St. Stephens Cathedral, which was absolutely massive. I have to say the interior was more impressive than the Basilica in Venice.

I have to say Vienna has been quite nice, and it has a very efficient and easy to use metro system that makes life so much easier. Tonight I am headed way North, to Copenhagen Denmark. 19 hours on a
The Royal BoxThe Royal BoxThe Royal Box

Where the Royal Family used to sit during their reign. Still everytime a rider first enters the ring he tips his hat to the painting of Charles VI that hangs behind it.
train…. what was I thinking? Later



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Maria TheresiaMaria Theresia
Maria Theresia

A monument to the Emperess.
St. Stephen's CathedralSt. Stephen's Cathedral
St. Stephen's Cathedral

This is located right smack in the middle of Vienna, in a beautiful square.


16th May 2006

me
as always very good photo ,,just whwene are you comeing home lol jh
17th May 2006

I think that I have said this before, but I am very proud of you, and what you have accomplished. Not everyone could head off alone to do what you are doing!! Pam would be so jealous of the horses!! She loves the Lipizaners... Have safe journeys!!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb