Everything You Do Is A Balloon


Advertisement
Europe
May 28th 2010
Published: June 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

It has been nearly two weeks since I returned to the United States, and in that time it seems that everything has gone to hell. I'm thinking primarily of the indescribable catastrophe that is BP's oil "spill", but also of Israel's aggression against Gaza-bound aid convoys and Arizona's new legislation against immigrants and ethic studies. These things are all I can think about, and I'm wondering if I should have just stayed in Denmark, which of course is not a paradise either. In my time abroad I learned a lot about Denmark and Europe, but also about the United States and (trying not to sound too cliché) myself.

I have a greater appreciation for things that I previously took for granted in the U.S. - like citizenship. If you are born in the U.S. you are a citizen and have all the rights of any other citizen. If you are born in Denmark, maybe you're a citizen and maybe not, depending on your parents. This creates a generation that is alienated from both Denmark, which is their homeland and birthplace, and their parents' or grandparents' country of origin (to which they may never have been).

I think I have
ReichstagReichstagReichstag

Parliament in Berlin
picked up a few very Danish traits or characteristics, though more experimental interaction with Americans is needed to prove or disprove this theory. I've met many amazing people and discovered so many more opportunities and avenues than I ever thought possible.

I'm obsessed with food. I think it is a defense mechanism to help me deal with readjustment. I don't eat it all the time, but I think about it all the time. I want to cook and try new foods and go to farmers' markets and make things from scratch.

I saw many amazing things during this adventure. Luckily I had my camera with me for most of it, so I'm going to let the pictures tell the story. If you want more sordid tales from my year in Denmark, experienced advice on studying abroad, or detailed thoughts on reverse culture shock, just ask. Thanks for reading!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

The Holocaust MemorialThe Holocaust Memorial
The Holocaust Memorial

...on a rainy day in Berlin
By trainBy train
By train

The countryside: Germany-Czech Republic-Austria-Slovakia-Hungary
The DanubeThe Danube
The Danube

"Duna" in Hungarian. Budapest.
Fisherman's BastionFisherman's Bastion
Fisherman's Bastion

My favorite place in all of Budapest
Shoes on the DanubeShoes on the Danube
Shoes on the Danube

Memorial to Murdered Jews in Budapest
St. Stephen's BasilicaSt. Stephen's Basilica
St. Stephen's Basilica

...from the top of the Basilica in Budapest.
ParliamentParliament
Parliament

Ian photographs the Hungarian Parliament from across the river.
Chain Bridge Chain Bridge
Chain Bridge

Nighttime in Budapest
Flower MarketFlower Market
Flower Market

Amsterdam
A view from the waterA view from the water
A view from the water

Canal-biking in Amsterdam
Dutch flagDutch flag
Dutch flag

...flying high over the houseboats of Amsterdam (including our hostel!)
HalsHals
Hals

walking on the Danish coast with my grandfather
ChristianiaChristiania
Christiania

on a post-dinner stroll through the Free Town of Christiania
SushiSushi
Sushi

homemade sashimi with the family
ChristianshavnChristianshavn
Christianshavn

a walk through Christianshavn in Copenhagen
Almost summerAlmost summer
Almost summer

the last day in Denmark - and what seemed like the first day of sunshine


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb