A family visit to Bologna


Advertisement
Europe
June 29th 2007
Published: December 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

my father's visit was a very emotional visit, and you know me - when it comes to emotions - you will get only the clod facts and boring truth... but come on people - use your imagination....

So - the main idea of the visit (i think) was to visit the town i was born in and mainly the 5 families that were my parents best friends-family-like-friends. Some of them are very old. when i left Italy i was about 4 years old and fluent in Italian. I have visited twice since then - when i was 11 and when I was 27, both of the times i didn't understand or say a word... the "very emotional" thing kicks in when we all know that it's the first time that we meet and i can understand them and even speak a little. for some of them it might also be the last time. the other very emotional thing (more for them, less for me) is the fact that i look like my mother (for those of you who don't know, my mother died 8.5 years ago) for them it's a shock to see me - one of them even spotted me walking in the street and thought - "i know her, she looks like her mom".
so - visiting the first family I had was a very big deal for me, so big that i can't even write a normal sentence, so i will leave it for now. knowing me and the internet connection here - i will send the
e-mail in few days, completely forgetting to edit it...
another thing i did was to go to the town's archive and find my birth declaration. i did it all by myself (yes, yes, in italian).. and i got it!! i got the wrong document.
i was looking for another one, that was written in a big book but i am very comfortable thinking you can't find those books, they are stored somewhere.. that's what i understood and for me that's the truth.
but - i have an A4 sized photocopy, signed by the municipality saying that i was born there...

Bologna is not only red and fat, it's also funny



now, about my "hometown" that's the one i told you about the via john Lennon address.... well, it's not the end of the great humor my town has...
the towns hero is Neptune. there is a big statue of him in the main piazza... the town leader that asked for the statue wasn't happy with the first version. Neptune's "brain" (penis) was a little to BIG.... so - he forced the artist to start again. the artist did so, this time it was o.k. only later they found out that the artist new what he was doing....


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb