Well, if not rich, then at least not hobo-ized


Advertisement
Europe
October 25th 2009
Published: October 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Blaumann!The Blaumann!The Blaumann!

The only sensible option when performing construction in Germany.
Some people wonder how others can spend months or years "pissing about" and "doing what they're doing" (actual quotes) in countries far away from home. There are the typical how, why and what questions - with what somewhat covered in this blog (and the others on this site, which I assume are great and insightful. (Aside: I cannot read about others travelling, for various reasons, which makes me wonder what you are doing reading this.))

Now the why is something I often struggle with, and most people point to the lack of any kind of life being built, really. I don't really have specific answers for this one.

Now the how can often be quite amusing. Not being fabulously wealthy (thank you very much for ignoring my earlier funding search!), I must find jobs in most places I go. Here are a few pictures that show my current plight.

In the first I have come home from a hard day's work as a construction labourer in Bavaria, Germany. I am wearing the traditional outfit, the "Blaumann" (translation: blue man). If nothing else, this job helped me drastically improve my German vocabulary of curse words.

In the next,
The British InstitutesThe British InstitutesThe British Institutes

The fact that I was twenty minutes late to the interview (I blame the buses) didn't deter them from offering me a job! Thank you Italy!
you see a sign of where many of my current hopes lie, for better or for worse. Though I am employed by the British Institutes (not to be confused with the British School or even the British Institute located not far away (seriously)), I have not been offered any courses to teach. I sit anxiously by the phone.

And the last you can see my attempts at self-employment. If you know of anyone who needs English lessons in Florence, Italy...




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Freelancer!Freelancer!
Freelancer!

Note the look of terrified desperation in the eyes.


Tot: 0.264s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb