Impressions of Italy, Part 1


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
November 5th 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Carrara!Carrara!Carrara!

The birthplace (sculpt-place?) of David.
The number of readers of the blog seems to be dramatically decreasing. I would somehow like to blame this on the financial crisis, and get some kind of government payout, and this actually seems like a possibility.

Anyhow, perhaps I have misjudged my audience and no one wants to read about idiotic wooden lawn ornaments (see "Fantastic Wooden Heroes") and other obscurities of my addled mind. Who would have known?

So today I am going to try something different and write about a trip we took. We went out to Carrara in Tuscany (a couple of hours on the train from Florence) to Marble Mountain (note: may not be real name). It was, truthfully, pretty amazing. There are many marble mines here, and this is apparently where Michelangelo got the stone for David. The air was fresh, the views were very impressive and it was one of the best little trips I have taken in a while. The pictures don't effectively show the coolness, but take a look anyhow.

And because it is my blog, I will add a bit of silliness for those diehards out there (thanks, Gary!). The next two pics may not at first seem
A nice view...A nice view...A nice view...

I have no idea who is depicted by the statue. My remark that it looked a bit like Jesus wrapped in a marble blanket was met with a stony stare.
to have anything in common, but, in fact, they are both pictures of things that are completely useless - an appendix and crosswalks in Florence. I seriously have no idea why they bother painting these on the roads (the crosswalks, not appendices) as they mean nothing to driver and pedestrian alike. In fact, I should say they are a bit of a hazard, as any tourist who sees them and assumes traffic will stop when he starts his journey across is in for an unfortunate, um, death.

And finally - my street. Via Capo di Mondo - literally "End of the World" (I am told), but not in the where-the-hell-is-Bruce-Willis-when-you-need-him sense, but rather, like the edge of the world. Seems they still subscribe to the flat-earth theory here. Oh, Galileo, you have suffered for very little, seeing this still in your homeland.

(Note: I am aware Galileo was imprisoned for advocating heliocentrism, but, meh, leave me alone.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Useless thing number 1...Useless thing number 1...
Useless thing number 1...

He seems rather pleased to be out on his own in the world.
Useless thing number 2...Useless thing number 2...
Useless thing number 2...

Trust not in Italian, well, laws.
My new homeMy new home
My new home

Believe it or not, I also used to live at the nexus of the universe. True story.


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb