Mehr Bier!


Advertisement
Europe
July 16th 2009
Published: July 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hallo Freunde!

Rob & I started the day with an extra long breakfast with Alex & Stewart, both from the Aftershocks, great guys & I think time very well spent for Rob.

Since "cash is king" here in Germany, just like my buddy & travel guru Rick Steve's said. Rob & I hopped the train in search of a bank that would do an exchange at a reasonable rate. We have found that the smaller local pubs & restaurants only take cash. It's really interesting how Americans have become so used to putting everying either on a credit card/atm card, we have no concept of cash anymore! In Germany its clear that the culture does not place value on making purchases on credit! I've noticed that the places that cater to tourists do take cards, but most of the local places don't. While we were out we happened upon a Starbucks, I swear I heard angels singing "hallelujah"! We ordered some familiar drinks & snapped a pic. Funny thing no iced tea on the menu anywhere!

We went over to the Stadium that the teams will be playing at today, and the sports complex is really beautiful! Rob was so anxious to get on the field! I left Rob to practice with the team for the afternoon, cause a girl can only take so much segway polo! I got back on the train and did some shopping downtown before we headed out to the Hard Rock Cafe for beers, appetizers & more importantly to get the line up for the tournament. I picked up our Kelsey girl a very cool T-shirt from Hard Rock Cologne! (Miss you kid!). I've also made friends with the Flyin' Fish from Barbados, fun guys and proof that not ALL segway polo players are computer geeks! The Gold Rush will play two games tomorrow for round one, at 2:15 they go up aganist the Funky Move Turtles from Cologne, Germany and at 4:45 they play the Aftershocks also from California. For round two on Sunday the Gold Rush will play the Barbado's Flyin' Fish at 12:30 and the Black Rose at 4:45. Sunday's matches will be determined depending on the results of the games played on Friday & Saturday. Hopefully the rain that is forcasted will move in later after all the matches are played.

It was such a beautiful night we decided to take a walk down to the Cathedral to see it all lit up....yep just as impressive at night!

I included a few pictures of some funny signs we have encountered here in Germany. Thought you may get a chuckle 😊 Oh and I learned one new phrase today that I think I will get alot of use of....mehr Bier!

Signing off for the night, happy reading! Tomorrow I promise a video & hopefully some helmet cam action!

Beifall, Christie









Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



17th July 2009

ATMs are the way to go
Hey there! It may be different now, but the best exchange rates I ever got in France were using ATM machines. You may not need to get cash again, but I thought I'd throw that out there. Hope you guys are still having fun! Good luck Gold Rush! :-) Julie
20th July 2009

Love the signs!!!

Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb