The Beaches of Nice and the Canals of Venice


Advertisement
Europe
February 13th 2009
Published: February 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

France to Italy


From Paris Amanda and I took the train first to Nice, France for a day and then for a night stop over in Milan, Italy and finally to Venice for 2 days. The weather in Nice was amazing!! We couldn’t believe that it was still considered winter! While everyone else was walking around in heavy winter coats we were in short sleeves and enjoying the sun! Our time was limited in Nice, but we made the most of it by walking from the train station to the beach, around the protestors for Pakistan, and then just sat around on the retaining wall near the beach and read. Amanda did take the opportunity to take off her socks and shoes to walk in the ocean; I’m sure it was quite cold!

After arriving in Milan we spent the night in a hotel because Amanda was very against spending the night in another train station after how cold it got in London. Honestly, I don’t know where her sense of adventure is! But the hotel we stayed in was just about as cold as the train station, but probably safer, and it had breakfast. We arrived in Venice later in the morning and I had my first experience of being asked to see my ‘documents’ by the police. We were looking at our newly acquired map to find our hotel and were approached by the police at the station and they asked to see our passports. I wasn’t that alarmed after seeing it happen to others as well, but it was just a new experience for me. In Venice we took the long way to our hotel, by that I mean we walked instead of taking the water taxi. We did this in order to get a better look at the islands and so we took our time looking about and taking pictures on our way. I have decided that Venice looks exactly like it does in photos. I have a puzzle at home of Venice and I think I took the exact picture that is on the puzzle, so if you look at these you will never have to go to Venice. How does that sound?

The things we saw in Venice were Il Ponte d’Accedemia, Ponte di Rialto, Piazza San Marco—as seen in the Italian Job (I bet everyone just loves my movie references…), San Marco Cathedral and bell tower, the Grand Canal, and lots of gondolas. The Piazza San Marco was covered in pigeons just like in all of the pictures. I really liked seeing all of the Carnivale masks on display and we also got lucky that the acqua alta (high tide) was no longer high so we could walk around freely and not on raised platforms.

Overall Amanda and I had a short, but marvelous time in Venice. We took the water taxi back to the station the next morning and boarded a train for Perugia!



Additional photos below
Photos: 74, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Streets of NiceStreets of Nice
Streets of Nice

down this street there was a protest for Pakistan...
Weird Photo Shoot...Weird Photo Shoot...
Weird Photo Shoot...

yeah....umm...it's a European thing?
Amanda and I Relaxing!Amanda and I Relaxing!
Amanda and I Relaxing!

we were pretty excited by how warm it was...everyone else was in winter coats though. haha!
Frolicking in the WaterFrolicking in the Water
Frolicking in the Water

i think she lost a shoe here....
First Views of VeniceFirst Views of Venice
First Views of Venice

this is right outside the train station!


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb