South West Coast Path


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
August 7th 2022
Published: August 7th 2022
Edit Blog Post

After leaving the South West Coast Path at Clovelly in April, I'm back to take up where I left off after a fantastic weekend at the folk festival.

It was dull and damp as I stated walking from my little overnight shelter. I wasn't too worried though as the forecast was for the weather go improve throughout the morning and remain good all week.

It was lovely being back on the path again. The first stretch was through lovely forest. Lots of oak trees.

Emerging from the forest there were the wide expansive views characteristic of the path. Lundy didn't look so far away.

Just before I stopped for lunch at a bench atop a cliff where I hoped the breeze would keep the horseflies away, I passed a man who I recognised from TV, but his name escaped we. We exchanged a quick hello. I probably had that look on my face saying I know you're famous but I can't remember your name. There were over a dozen walkers just behind him and as I got my flask out I asked if it was a walking club.

I was told it was a charity walk, for Macmillan, led by Bill Bailey. Of course it was. Can't believe I forgot his name.

At Hartland Quay I shared a table with a German lady and an English couple, all of whom I'd chatted to along the way today, for a quick drink before going out separate ways.

Hartland Quay to Bude is certainly in my top three walking days ever. Lovely sunshine and walking not too hard. I think I have definitely got fitter.

I was swishing along over parched grass, crickets danced ahead of me to escape my clumsy boots and sang from the margins. Butterflies performed ariel ballets of duels and courtship, I can never tell the difference. I've never seen so many butterflies. Imagine how many more there must have been a century and more ago.

I crossed a little wooden bridge and I was in Kernow. In true Cornish fashion my first steps in Cornwall were to climb a steep flight of steps. I better get used to this.

In Bude I stayed at Cerenity Eco campsite, complete with composting toilets.

The walk to Boscastle was more of the same. A beautiful day. The beach at Widemouth was busy with happy holiday makers.

I did have a little mini-adventure on the way. The walking was easy through a large field. I was daydreaming and drifted a few metres to the left. I assumed the path followed the whole field. It didn't. When I realised I must have missed the gate I continued on of course thinking I'd pick up the path in the next field. That was mistake two.

Rather than being on the far side of a simple hedge I took a route through a little wood which sloped steeply down to a stream. I squelched through the only mud left in Cornwall and fought my way through the briars up the far slope to emerge in another field. Over a couple of electric fences and I found the path at the farside of the field. Easy walking!

I had hoped to stop for a break at High Cliff, but a herd of cows had claimed it so I moved on sitting on the steps a bit further on.

I had a lovely pint in The Cobweb Inn in Boscastle, but missed the food by ten minutes. No amount of persuasion could convince a resolute bar person to even let me order a plate of chips.

There was a beautiful sunset as I headed out to find a spot for the night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Double stone and wooden stileDouble stone and wooden stile
Double stone and wooden stile

A rare example of a double stile. For experienced walkers only!


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb