Cambridge Folk Festival 2022


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
August 2nd 2022
Published: August 2nd 2022
Edit Blog Post

I've looked at the lineup of the Cambridge Folk Festival on and off over the years. They always listed musicians I was interested in seeing. Now on my career break I decided I'd splash out and get that tick of the list as well.

I'm really really glad I did now. Despite going on my own I really enjoyed it. Bing alone I was able to be really selfish and do whatever I felt like at the time. So naturally my plans changed a dozen times a day.

I arrived on Friday morning, I delayed travelling by a day to avoid the worst of the rail strike. Once I got my bearings I walked out to the festival site at Cherry Hinton. About a mile or so. Beautiful hot day.

The campsite was pretty packed already. I could see space under the trees near the entrance so I pitched up under them to avoid the scorching sun.

I was a bit nervous that the campsite would be pretty noisy and wild, but it was much quieter than many "normal" campsites i have stayed at. I didn't need my emergency cans of beer! (If there's a party tent nearby, the best thing is to just join in).

There was a steady stream of people into the festival site from late morning onwards. After lunchtime I joined them. The site was huge, by what I'm used to anyway.

On way in I thought bags were being searched for alcohol. However on my second visit I discovered the search was for glass. Bring your own drink. Happy days! My emergency cans of beer became my carry out.

As I walked through the ground I got to grips with the layout. A large marquee with Stage 2 to the right just inside the entrance. Around the perimeter to the left an assortment of festival related stalls. Two bars, including an Irish bar. The Club tent and then the food stalls.

Then I saw the huge marquees with the main stage .there was a walkway kept clear up to it. Either side was thousands of people on an incredible variety of folding chairs and stools. Some used picnic blankets to lay claim to their space. Everyone looked very relaxed. Reading novels, doing crosswords, chatting, one or two painting and drawing and of course drinking. It was like a massive village green.

Over the next few days I became very familiar with the site. I was even able to find my tent under the trees without a tourch on the last night

After being on the Green Team at Heb Celt festival I knew a bit about some of the acts. I saw the full sets for Seasick Steve, Juliet Fowlis, Elephant Sessions was a bit of a Peatbog Faeries moment, brilliant.

Suzanne Vega, I obviously knew her hits, but she had a great set. It was great to see the Gypsy Kings, although I suspect only the singer is an original member, but then he is the distinctive sound.

Similarly Afro Celt Sound System had a mixed old/ new lineup. Some sound difficulties but still class. I caught the end of Flook who I've seen before.

It was lovely to finally hear Clannad live. The theme from Harry's Game is truly haunting. This is supposed to be their farewell tour, but they didn't seem convinced themselves. They said at least twice they'd be back,!

Spell songs, inspire by Robert McFarland's books and the illustrations was really good. I didn't know what to expect, but I'm so glad I checked them out.

One more act deserves an honourable mention. The Whallloping Mary. Stage Irish, paddywackery, but incredibly it worked. They were clearly enjoying themselves and it was infectious. Some serious songs about emigration etc, but the music was so lively that may have went above some people's heads. They closed out the festival for the Club Tent. It turned into a mosh pit at the front. It was great. Hadn't done that for decades! Possibly not what they were expecting and I've no idea how it started!

As I was leaving on Monday morning one of the security guards was very philosophical.
"One chapter closes, and a new journey begins," he said, or something similar.
Here's to the new journey.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

sneaky squirrel sneaky squirrel
sneaky squirrel

The music was so good even the squirrels were sneaking in.
Gypsy KingsGypsy Kings
Gypsy Kings

Going for the festival record for the most guitars on stage.


Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb