Slow day - just what I needed


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Cardiff
September 1st 2009
Published: September 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Cardiff MarketCardiff MarketCardiff Market

Cardiff Market is filled with tasty goodies.
I awoke this morning in a bit of a haze after last night’s undertakings. When I glanced down at the floor before hopping off the top bunk I noticed one of the lads had left the rest of us a gift on the floor in the center of the room. It appeared someone must have had a little too much Black Death.

Once I got cleaned up, I departed Bath and headed for Cardiff, Wales. Cardiff is not quite the tourist hotspot but it is Wales’ capital city. When I planned my trip I wanted to go to Wales as I have Welsh ancestry (my late grandmother was of Welsh descent). Since we don’t have any idea what part of Wales her family was from, I figured the capital was as good a spot to go as any.

I checked into the hostel upon arrival and noticed how nice an establishment it is. The place is well kept and is in a peaceful location right along the river. And the Welsh mother and daughter that run it are quite pleasant.

I took a walk around the city center this afternoon to become acquainted with Cardiff. It’s no metropolitan
Fresh fishFresh fishFresh fish

This stand was right by the door to rid of the strong aroma that graced visitors upon entry.
by any means. I visited the tourist center and grabbed a sandwich at Cardiff Market.

It rained off and on this afternoon, as it has in the British Isles throughout my stay. With the way rain comes and goes here it would be foolish to go anywhere without an umbrella.

This afternoon I decided to be tech savvy and set up a Skype account. Now I have Internet phone access from and to just about anywhere in the world. I feel so high tech.

I just grabbed a late dinner at a pub and am stuffed. I noticed a sign outside the establishment that taunted me into ordering this absurdly large meat platter. After 32 oz. of pork chops, lamb chops, rump steak, ham steak, sausage, chips (fries), peas, half a tomato and a Brains ale to wash it all down, I’m quite full. I have some running to do tomorrow morning to work off that meal.

Tomorrow I’ll be touring Cardiff and doing a bit of trip planning for my upcoming destinations.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb