First day at little school


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
August 29th 2012
Published: September 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

(Two blogs outstanding, sorry UncleMurz and NextDoor'sWedding, be with you soon, but don't want to leave this one too long...)

Little Boo started nursery last week. A big deal for a little chap. All 3 year olds get five 2.5 hour sessions per week, funded by the government. We have chosen to take four mornings a week at a local private nursery, so he goes Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. He gets Wednesdays off for good behaviour.

It's only about 10minutes from us so he chooses to ride his bike most mornings. It's a balance bike, no pedals, and he can get quite a lick of speed up on the way in, since it's mostly downhill. G and I trot along closely behind with the pram.

I wanted to make him his first ever school bag, something special for him. I'm quite pleased with the result, and I know he loves it too. When I gave it to him, I explained that I had made it for him because I love him so much, but he reminded me it's not me he loves it's Daddy. Cheers. OK, it'll be from Asda next year then!

He seems to be enjoying it overall, most days he comes rushing out full of smiles and tells me he's 'had a lovely day'! Sadly he sometimes forgets that by the next morning and has had to be peeled off my legs a couple of times which is quite distressing for both of us. The teachers tell me he is absolutely fine once he's in, and he can usually be persuaded in with promises of dinosaurs, playing outside on the pirate ship or the prestige of being 'Fish Monitor' for the day!

Friday is library day, where he gets to choose a book to bring home for the week. 'Jack's Boat' was the first week's choice, not bad. This week it was 'Dora in FairyTale Land' which was frankly terrible, but he seemed to enjoy it, although said the dragon was a bit scary.

It has been really nice for me to have one-to-one time with Georgia while he's in nursery, and we've embarked on a busy timetable of Wee Gym, BabyBop, Mums&Tots, and of course much drinking of tea and eating of cake with Mummy's friends!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

First artworkFirst artwork
First artwork

Difficult to tell which way up, but then isn't that the way with much great art!


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb