let's catch some rays poolside dude :)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Stirlingshire » Stirling
May 30th 2008
Published: May 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I woke up early to see Kathy off. Tonight Harriet and Colleen are taking the over night bus to London to catch their flight in the morning. God, I love public transportation 😊

I spent yesterday just hanging out mostly. I cleaned up the flat and checked with the porter about some damages in my room. The good news is the window handle that David accidentally pulled off one night is not an individual occurance. Supposedly a lot of windows have had this happen, so I don't get charged 😊 And the ridiculously bad paint job that chipped off in huge chunks when I pulled pictures off the wall has been happening a lot too. I couldn't have asked for all of that to work out any better.

I got a little worried yesterday because David's phone stopped working. He could send me text messages, but I couldn't respond. By 4 o'clock, when I got the- is everything ok with us- text message, I called Rab and asked him to call him for me, but Rab couldn't get through to him either, and then I felt really bad because Rab's phone went off during a meeting at work.

I tried one more time to call David around 5 and for some reason his phone had started to work again. We made plans to meet up in town for dinner around 6:30.

When I got to the train station, I saw David walking up and immediately realized that we were wearing basically the same thing. Me in a jean skirt and gray sweater and him in jeans and a gray sweater. We went and had dinner at Longhorns where they're smart enough to realize we matched 😊 Afterwards we went to The Wallace for a little bit and met up with Rab. David was expecting some jokes, but no one really noticed. This was a good change after being called Mr. And Mrs. Causewayhead 2008 the week before. It was all just an odd coincidence 😊

David and I also put two and two together last night and realized that Sarah Guthrie, my flatmate from this year, is one of his relatives. I guess they have an aunt in common, but it makes sense because the two of them have very similar physical features and their personalities aren't far off from one another.

Anyways, today I'm packing like a mad woman and deciding where to put everything. It's kind of interesting to know that my life can fit in two suitcases. After all this moving over the last couple years, I've gotten pretty good at setting up house in a day or two.

I have to go and weigh my suitcases in a little bit. I'm really hoping they're not over weight, but it will be close. After that (and depending on how well that works out), I'm going to head into town for a bit. Adam and Pamela had a little boy, 7 pounds 4 oz, that they named Ben, so I'm going to pick up a baby gift, and then probably do some shopping and come back here to clean up. I also need to go and close my bank account here on campus, but I'm not too worried about it because there's nothing in it 😊

Tonight David and I are supposed to hang out, just have a quiet night before waking up at 5:00 to get ready to go. I'm a little hesitant to go, but I know I need to. I was really hoping to have a job by this point for the summer so that I would have something to go back to that would preoccupy my time. After that company I was hoping to work for let me know that the position they're hiring for has to be a permanent or temp to hire position, I'm a little discouraged. But at this point, I think I'm just going to get with a temp agency and hope it works out to my benefit. Maybe it will free up some of my time to go rowing.

Anyways, it will be nice to get back to Texas. I can't wait to see Mom, Isaac, and Eleanor- and Casey dog 😊 I'll especially enjoy the warm weather. Yesterday was nice here, but today's kind of overcast. I'm hoping to get myself into more of a routine when I get back- it would be nice to have a regular schedule after four months of not having to read when I don't want to or not having to be anywhere other than class (6 hours out of the entire week) and those were even optional.

So as it usually goes- it'll be nice to get back but hard to leave.

"May the wind be at your back and the sun on your face" (thanks Dad) 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb