walking around campus


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Stirlingshire » Stirling
February 24th 2008
Published: February 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today, Kathy and I walked around campus. There's a big loch (bigger than we had expected) right in the middle of campus with a path around the whole thing. We had a great time running away from the vicious swans and checking out Airthrey Castle, which is right here on campus and has some classes conducted in it. We got back to our flats just in time for the rain to start- talk about good timing! 😊

After not getting to the William Wallace Monument yesterday because of weather, I figured this would be a good way to get outside and see a little bit more of Scotland. Next weekend, maybe we'll venture out a little further lol.




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

castle from a distancecastle from a distance
castle from a distance

we were standing on the golf course- yes, golf course.
me and the castleme and the castle
me and the castle

"where's my knight in shining armor?!?"
some of the roadsome of the road
some of the road

right in front of the castle, leading up closer to the mountains in the background
golfballgolfball
golfball

and then we realized we had come upon the campus golf course...
the main entrance to campusthe main entrance to campus
the main entrance to campus

not as impressive as the clark enterance, but i'll take it :)
all of Scotlandall of Scotland
all of Scotland

green, green, green :)


25th February 2008

uh...
what exactly defines a "skunk duck"? and how do you get only a "kinda mean" swan - how does that differ from a mean one? natives are restless... miss you. love, fang
25th February 2008

A skunk duck is indigenous to Scotland, specifically Stirling. While spending its days swimming in a very peculiar way, it finds its food by diving under water and remaining there long enough to convince everyone that saw it go down- that it has drown. It also seems to look kind of skunkish w its white nose.
26th February 2008

alrighty then
I think I want one. Pearl will love it. Your pictures are cool, but I'm still waiting to hear what the qualifications for "kinda mean" swan are, because I'd like to add a fully-mean one to my collection and I don't want to get gipped with a "kinda mean" one. If you weren't an 11-hour flight away, I'd round up David and my two sidekicks and make them all come visit you. I'm sure you'd love that. Perhaps we could all stay in your "flat." :)
27th February 2008

I know that campus well
Im in malaysia and checked out some scottish blogs for home comforts and i found them! i spent four yeats at that uni. glad you enjoyed it!
29th February 2008

That's great! I'm loving it here! Anything I should make sure to do before I leave? Hope you're having a good time in Malaysia!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb