Eilean Donan Castle - Proposal :)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Ross and Cromarty » Dornie
March 16th 2007
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SheepSheepSheep

On the drive from Culrain to Dornie, we saw a lot of Sheep :)
This was definately my favorite day of my whole time over in Europe (and probably of my life!). I was in Scotland, which already made it a great day, but I got to visit the Eilean Donan Castle (I have wanted to visit it since I lived in the Netherlands). Ross had sketched me a picture of it for his first Christmas present for me, so it was even more special that we got to go see it together. Jen, Joe, Matt, Kristen, Ross and I first went to the Visitor Center to see if we could go across the bridge to the castle. While the others stayed to look in the shop a little bit longer, Ross and I headed out toward the castle once we found out we could go. As we were walking around the perimeter of the castle on the rounded smooth gravel ground, Ross all of a sudden said, "Look at this rock!" as he bent down to show me one. However, as he got on his knee and showed me quite a different rock- a diamond 😊 He then proposed, and I of course said yes! What a perfect proposal for me! I was sooooo happy. Good job Ross! 😊 We then went back to the Visitor Center and shared the news with everyone else, and kept trying to call my parents on the payphone, though didn't get through til later that day. Needless to say, it was a very excellent day! And if anyone is able to travel to Scotland, I highly recommend going to visit the Eilean Donan Castle. It is soooo picturesque - there's definately a reason it's the most photographed castle in Scotland!!

Also, sorry the pictures are kind of foggy....it was quite the Scottish weather that day (which I LOVE 😊 but not the best for pictures....)


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Elk!!Elk!!
Elk!!

Here's evidence that we did see elk :) These are a bit younger than others we had seen though...
PhoneboothPhonebooth
Phonebooth

This was so funny - a phonebooth right in the middle of nowhere!! We had to stop to take a picture :)
Castle RocksCastle Rocks
Castle Rocks

View from the other side.
The Ring!!The Ring!!
The Ring!!

It's so glittery :) :)


Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb