A Visitor


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
March 23rd 2014
Published: June 28th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So Josh came to visit in March for break.



I picked him up from the airport (complete with a vaguely insulting sign and soppy hugs) and brought him home, where he proceeded to collapse and sleep. Which was good for him, but boring for me because he got here on my friend’s birthday and we had plans to play board games all day. Which we did, but I had assured everyone I know that my little brother was both real and super into board games. So his sleeping delayed my ability to prove that I actually had family.



Anyway, the minute he was awake and functional, I threw him at my friends and demanded that they all get along. In hindsight, that was probably a mite intimidating. Oops. He dealt with it rather well. He even went on a hike up Arthur’s Seat, despite being sleep deprived and jetlagged. The kid’s a trooper.



He was in Edinburgh during St. Patricks Day, which should be every teen boy’s dream but Josh was not feeling the whole ‘getting plastered’ thing so he opted to stay in while also insisting that I go out myself. Unfortunately, I’m also not into the whole drunken atmosphere so it was an uneventful night for the pair of us.



We also saw the Edinburgh Dungeons, which was good fun. It was very similar to the London Dungeons except, y’know, Scottish. I made friends with a guy who was dressed as a judge. That was neat.



Mostly we walked around Edinburgh and saw some of the sights, occasionally accompanied by my friends. We walked around Princes Street, the Royal Mile, the Art Gallery, and the Museum.



On Thursday, we went to Glasgow with two of my friends and wasted a large portion of the day in the Glasgow Museum of Modern Art, which rocked. I wouldn’t hesitate to call it a highlight of the trip. There was an exhibit in the GMMA that had a bunch of material anyone could use to make art. And boy, did we art.



I had to leave Josh alone a lot because I still had classes to go to so he basically spent half the trip in my room, wasting time on the internet or exploring the city on his own.





I hope he had fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb