I'm Aliiiiive


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 17th 2013
Published: November 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

First off, I recognize that I have been woefully absent from the interwebs, but that simply means that I am getting down to business (to defeat the huns ) and doing school stuff.



Plus I’ve been very sick. Like, brink of collapse sick. It’s all very dramatic. True to my medical upbringing, I have refused to go get medical attention despite clearing needing some. This is partially because I was pretty sure I’d recover without seeing a doctor but also because I have no idea how to see a doctor here. But mostly the recovery thing.



Anyway, I’m alive and very busy.



It has been a long time, and lots of things have happened.



I was a ghost buster for Halloween, which was good fun. My friends/fellow busters and I went to Teviot, the student-run bar/meeting area, because there was a “house of horror” going on. Unfortunately, there wasn’t anything really horrifying about it. We came, we danced, we danced some more, we saw that the DJ was wearing a ghost buster tee and then we had a bit of a moment. That
I HAD MAIL!I HAD MAIL!I HAD MAIL!

I finally got a package from my mom and it was fabulous.
moment mostly consisted of us shrieking and the DJ pointing at his shirt and grinning. It was magic.



So that’s one major event taken care of.



I went to a curry and comedy evening with all my girl friends and had a lovely ladies night. The comics were genuinely funny and the curry was very curried.



I have really bonded with this girl named Casey, who’s from California and is only staying for a year. She recently turned 22 and she’s the complete bomb. She, Oli, and I are going on an Ikea trip to get Swedish food and plants. Oli, for those unfamiliar, is another really good friend of mine from Sweden. He plays the cello.



I wrote the last of my major essays and I think I did okay. I may have tanked completely, as I was deathly ill the week prior. Like, I legitimately thought I wouldn’t make it through the night. But you already know that.



So now I’m keeping up with the Kardashians.



Not really. I’m not a fan. But I am getting close to the end of Buffy.



Yesterday, I went to a charity ceilidh. It was for orphans in Rwanda. They showed us a video of the orphans and it was really depressing, especially when it was shown at a dance. After that, the night was really fun. I met more people from Pollock and I had a really good time ceilidhing; everyone dances really enthusiastically so I have some bruises on my elbow from being spun too hard.. The only downside was that a butt-face spun his partner around really really aggressively and ended up smashing her into my arm, so now I have a nose shaped bruise on my arm and she has a bicep shaped bruise on her face. The butt face is a tool and I dislike him greatly.



Tonight I went out with some friends to see them perform Verdi. Look at me, getting some culture. Woo hoo. I have no idea if it was any good, as I am unfamiliar with Verdi, but it was fun.



Also, my window broke and won’t close so now I live in a frozen room.



I had a ton of really funny and clever anecdotes saved, but I can’t remember any of them now.



I include for your reading pleasure, some observations regarding uni life.



Everyone has Doc Martens. Mine are the coolest, but everyone has a pair.



Everyone owns tartan and at least one ugly sweater.



Also fountain pens. Everywhere.



All this seems to come with a creeping fear of the resurgence of the Nazi party. Yeah, I don’t get it either.



So that's life. It rocks. I love this city.

Advertisement



17th November 2013

Poor thing
So sorry that you have been deathly ill, but delighted you finished your essays. Maybe you just needed more 'pubbing' and your Mom's parcel. Can you not buy popcorn and do it yourself? Send me your phone # pls. As always xo

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb