Dae ye think ma heid buttons up the back?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
June 12th 2006
Published: June 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


First, some formalities…

As you may have noticed, I am prone to exclaiming over my love of “gothic architecture”. Before we go any further, I feel that some explanation of this phrase is in order. Now, although it is fairly apparent that I hold an appreciation for old architecture, the truth is that I have little actual knowledge of architectural styles and tend to refer to any old building that takes my fancy as “gothic”. That being said, I will not tolerate any architecture buffs leaving snide comments about my forthcoming errors. Such comments will be swiftly deleted and their writers publicly shamed in future entries.

And now to the entry…

I arrived in fair Edinburgh this morning, greeted by gloomy rain and a cold wind. I suppose it was inevitable that I would one day encounter “real” Scottish weather, though searching for a hostel through narrow, cobbled streets was not the optimum time. I did eventually find the hostel and was pleased to see that reception was at the top of a flight of winding stairs (77 steps, to be exact, they were nice enough to number them, as well as paint encouraging slogans on the walls: “think of the calories you’re burning!” and the like). The hostel is pleasant and only slightly dirty (what I thought was a cockroach in the bathroom turned out to be only a stain on the wall so it’s all good).

Edinburgh is a lot creepier than Glasgow but much more tourist oriented. One can hardly walk ten feet before they are offered “authentic” highland costumes. I began my explorations of the city with, to no one’s surprise I’m sure, the Greyfriar’s Tollbooth, an old cemetery. The grounds hold over 250, 000 bodies and are purported to be one of the most haunted places in Edinburgh (at one point, I did hear footsteps following me, though it turned out to be some other tourists).

Disappointed with my lack of supernatural encounters, I headed up the Royal Mile to Hollyroodhouse Palace, the official residence of the royal family when they are in Scotland. The palace interiors were somewhat impressive though slightly dusty but the Abbey ruins in the palace gardens were themselves worth the price of admissions.

Feeling athletic in my hiking boots, I decide to attempt the ascent to Arthur’s Seat, 823 feet up Hollyrood Park. Braving
Greyfriar's BobbyGreyfriar's BobbyGreyfriar's Bobby

A statue to the memory of the Greyfriar's dog, Bobby, who, as the story goes, sat everyday for 14 years at his late master's grave.
a narrow path on the side of a cliff, gusts of wind that nearly toppled me from my perch, and children throwing stones from above, I soon realized that I had chosen the wrong path and could only reach a slightly lower peak across from Arthur’s Seat. Feeling dejected and exhausted, I returned to my hostel, where I now sit writing to you all.

N.B. photos will be added as soon as I find a computer that will allow me to upload them. Until then, you may enjoy the map of my route so far.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Edinburgh CloseEdinburgh Close
Edinburgh Close

The city is full of these creepy little lanes
Hollyroodhouse PalaceHollyroodhouse Palace
Hollyroodhouse Palace

with the Salisbury Crags in the background
The Palace GardensThe Palace Gardens
The Palace Gardens

This statue made me laugh...
The new Scottish ParliamentThe new Scottish Parliament
The new Scottish Parliament

You can make your own minds up about this choice of design...
Salisbury CragsSalisbury Crags
Salisbury Crags

This is the hill I climbed
Arthur's SeatArthur's Seat
Arthur's Seat

This is the hill I SHOULD have climbed
My newest enterpriseMy newest enterprise
My newest enterprise

I had to...how many times do I come upon my name?
The Backpacker's Health HikeThe Backpacker's Health Hike
The Backpacker's Health Hike

This is one part of the infamous stairs...and yes, they were fun to climb after a night at the pub


12th June 2006

I'm still laughing at the counted stairs in the hostel. Glad to see the place has a sense of humor. lol.........And that there was no cockroach in the bathroom.....So Edinburgh doesn't sound as nice as Glasgow eh? I hope you enjoy yourself, despite the rainy weather and meet lots of interesting people at the hostel and in the city. I look forward to seeing your latest pics. Take care Gali, Wendy
13th June 2006

hows the beer?
Hi Gali! I really enjoy reading your entries. You are a very good writer. Have fun on your travels and I look forward to your next journal. How do you get around? By bus? bye for now:-)
13th June 2006

Away an haud yer wheesht!!
You'll be getting sturdy legs with all the climbing!! As I have heard many a man say " Aye, she's got legs like a Clydesdale"!! Explanations later - love ya The gang in Alaska!
15th June 2006

Amazing Photos!!
Hi Gali, what great photos - you really know how to find the great images - all that walking and climbing - you will be fit as a fiddle! Just be careful "ya dinna step in ony coo pies!!" Take care and keep the stories coming. Luv ya, Mama, Daddy and Allon
18th June 2006

Cool pictures!
Hey Sista! I finally had some time to check out the blog. Pictures are very interesting. The one of the Parliment is quite futuristic... I hope you are doing well and taking care of yourself( you look a little thin there) How is the food by the way? you know how intrested i am in that area... I wonder if that Pizzaria is owned by Israelis,did you go in there? Anyway, keep in touch,we all miss ya very much and i still can't believe you are so far. love, Dilly
28th June 2006

Great photos!
Hi Gali, Love the photos. I'm glad you included the staircase at the hostel. I love the one of you in front of the pizzeria. Very cool that you found an enterprise with your name on it! Did you go in and have a slice? It was cool to see you in a picture too. I know it's hard when you're travelling to be in any shots. The sunset photos was great too. Sounds like Edinburgh is a lovely place. I like that you explain some of your pics. eg. that Greyfriar's dog one. Those lanes are very interesting to see. The weather's been great in Vancouver. Our summer is finally here. Take care, Wendy

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb