Update


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's 2 am and I've just finished work...I started at 11:30 am thismorning...


The Christmas season in Edinburgh is odd....shopping is somewhat of a national sport here (moreso in Glasgow, I'm told) and women in particular are actually fighting to get into the shops on Princes street. I see them come into my bar after a day battling the credit crunch with HUGE carrier bags numbering in the 10's and 20's. I'm not kidding. It's kinda insane. As a bartender I don't really see the recession all that much...we offer two cocktails for £4.95, which is extremely good, even if you factor in the wilting Canadian dollar.

I've made my Christmas plans: Am off to England on the 22nd, doing Christmas with the fam-damily at the Folly (farm) and Auntie Judiff's place, and then back to Edinburgh for Hogmanay. Excited I am!

One day in the near future I'll put up some pictures I've taken in the last week or so....It's half 2 and I'm a shadow of my former conscious self. I have to get up early to clean, and then off to work again at 5 until close. We have reso's of 50 in tomorrow, and I'm praying to the gods of sanity and the goddesses of patience for a miracle. Did I mention the girl last weekend who asked me to change the music to songs that she knew the words to?!?!? I just looked at her and said "Oh, are YOU the one that's rented the bar for the night?" (She obviously was NOT), and she just said "Well, I'm da-rinking here!" to which I flippantly retorted "So is everyone else, and seeing as we're playing Cha-ristmas Carols that are pretty old, they're not having a tough time with the words!" Perhaps Sarah should not be in customer service anymore....

Right, I'm off. I hope everyone has a good weekend, I will be at the bar...working....to Christmas Carols and snobby George St. girls who have paint-rollered their makeup on for my entertainment.

Advertisement



12th December 2008

Workin' Girl
Glad to see you'll have a family Christmas even though you're far away. Not so glad to see you giving bitchy, over made-up folks their pints but I guess someone's gotta do it. Seriously, glad you're working, I know money was becoming a worry. I guess no matter where you go, the REAL world always eventually sneaks up...I HATE that!! :o) Missing you Schaazy and loving you as you dish out that prickly Canadian sarcasm to George St.
13th December 2008

Da-rinking?!
You should tell the girl that your disc of children's songs gets turned off after dinner service, and that if she wants to come out earlier in the day then she might know the words :) Happy Christmas Schazz, all the best in the New Year!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb