...you tread on my dreams....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 28th 2008
Published: November 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ze Germans in my room are driving me nuts. They're also reaking havoc on the psyches of ze Parisians and ze Colombian (who I've just met and is lovely).

All they seem to do is talk, at a decibel level reserved for those guys on aircraft carriers. I do not understand. I'm travelling to broaden my mind, but I find myself with not so broad thoughts running through it, and these are my collective so far;

--perhaps Europeans (eastern, in particular) just all live together in large rooms, and many of them are deaf or quickly develop the trait

--pehaps personal space just doesn't exist, and people in these countries don't mind lights being turned on at 3 am when they're sleeping just to find one's moisturizer (I kid you NOT)

--perhaps moving in tightly woven packs is a defence mechanism, not so much for cuddly security as attack on those who don't want to have loud singing parties with screaming and inane lyrics at all hours

--maybe, just MAYBE this type of countryman just doesn't require sleep and needs constant social stimulation in order to survive. My seemily opposite, complete photo negative.

I have developed a new sympathy and understanding to guys whose girlfriends do nothing but talk. Honestly, I get it. These girls just sit and talk and talk and talk....maybe it's because I don't know what they're talking about, but a lot of it seems to revolve around pictures of Kate Moss and the application of aforementioned midnight moisturizer.

If I was a guy I would run, not walk from these types of girls (the chatty type, not necessarily ze german type). Jesus Christ, a moment's silence!!

I realize that it's almost an isolated incident, close quarters and takes getting used to....but must people ALWAYS talk? Must there always be a drone to ward off the evil silence? I happen to like silence. I like quiet. .....I'm also almost positively the olderst person in our room, if not on our floor. I'm just going to retrieve my knitting needles and dentures and go back to reading Yeats....with my earplugs in.

Advertisement



7th December 2008

Have you tried to sleep een ze lobby? Maybe find un schnouza (sp, i know) for zem to romp und play wit, jah? Or put zem on un zeppelin? And your right about Eastern Europeans. I have yet to meet anyone from around there who doesn't talk like they're yelling at the person that just ran over their foot.

Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb