Machester Day 3


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
May 18th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This morning I woe up around 9:30 a, took a shower and had a bowl of Pecan and Maple nut cereal. It was delicious and I couldn't help but think how much my mom would love it. I sat with Lucy talking about country music and American Idol. She had never heard of Kenny Chesney and I was talking about the concert I'm going to as soon as I return to the states. I had her listen on my iPod and I think she's hooked. She loves Britians Got Talent and I watched an episode with her and Uncle Michael the night before so I introduced her to my favorite in American Idol, David Cook. Again, I think she's hooked. She was set to download his music on iTunes. She took my iPd to watch Grey's Anatomy, Season 3 which has just come out over here.
I sat with Michael, who was still playing video games. He hasn't really stopped since I arrived. Then Patrick ame and we said our goodbyes to the house because Paige and him were talking to take me around to see the city and then drop me off at the train station. We headed out to this massive electromagnetic telescope. I was gianormous (Yes dad, it's a word). It was out in the country side of Oxford. We did the tourist bit and continued to drive around. We drove by Ronaldo's large estate at Paige's request. All the houses in England have so many chimney's. My cousins found it strange that I should notice. Also at Paige's request we stopped for icecream. I wasn't complaining. She has a bit of a sweet tooth, she self proclaimed that she'd do anything for chocolate.
Eventually it was time for me to catch my train and I had to say thank you and goodbye. Lucy has all my information, so I hope to keep in touch with everyone on a regular basis.
I purchased my train ticket and boarded the train at Platform 13. I spoke with Will on the train, he was cute and tall! Not a combination I've found much of here so far. He was charming and recommended I walk around Leeds (my transfer station) for an hour before continuing on to Edinburgh. So when I arrived there I did. A beautiful little town. All of the buildings look so old.
I found my way back to Leeds train station and waited for the next train to Edinburgh. On the train I hung out with Andrew and Wendy who were on their way to Newcastle. Andrew was interested in American politics, which seems to be a trend in this country. Wendy's from York and borth of them were pointing out the landmarks on our way. Durham was absolutely beautiful! So was York, but in a less massive way. The Cathedral in Durham is amazing. Makes me wish I had the opportunity to see it up close. It was getting late though and I want to arrive with some daylight in Edinburgh. Andrew and Wendy were so nice, I was disappointed when their stop came and we had to part ways. Nevertheless, as I always have thus far in my trip, I make new friends. I was sitting reading my book "How the Irish Saved Civilization" when some loud Scots came through yelling "The Scots Save Civilization!" They were heading back to Glasgow after being in Newcastle for their buddies stag party (which is a bachlor party). They had fun poking at my accent as well. They tried to teach me to say Edinburgh right by saying "I wear a bra, I wear a bra, I wear a bra" over and over and then trying to pronounce Edinburgh. Lol they weren't rude at all, it was funny... and it worked! They said if I just say the name of the city the entire time I'm there, people might think of me as a local. Haha These two were a riot. They said phrases like, "It's not like a Scot to waste a sip of alcohol" and "the ground is always wobbly in Scotland". They weren't drunks, just having a good time. They perfectly fit the Scottish stereotype. I asked them about the Manchester riots thourgh and they were disgusted by their fellow countrymen. But I did pick up that the Sottish really don't hold the rest of England in high regard.
It was the most beautiful train ride I've ever been on. For a good stretch we were going right up the coast line. Absolutely stunning! Haha and everytime I said that outloud John would stand up, bow and say "thank you". It was cheesy as heck, but it made me laugh. I think I'm going to absolutely LOVE scotland!
The train eventually arrived at Edinburgh Weaverly Station. The Scots wished me best travels and I gave them my email. I just had one of the best train rides ever.
The moment I stepped into te streets of Edinburgh, I couldn't stop giggling. The cobblestone streets, old buildings and old gentlemen walking/stumbling down the street in kilts. The sound of bagpipes in the distance. It was quarter to 10 and I was so excited for a night out!
I found my hostel simply by heading toward the giant castle that was lighting up because it was dusk. My hostel was right across the street. Its by far the nicest hostel I've stayed in so far. And for ony £13 a night. I got a key for the room, for my saf, and for my locker. Top notch. Go Castle Rock.
I locked up my things and just headed out. I walked down a tall flight of stairs and at the bottom heard teh sounds of a live band. I first walked past it to see if there was anything around the corner. The view of the castle was gorgeous and I took a picture. Then back to the pub, The White Hart Inn. The music was Graem Pearson. He was great and the crowd was loving him. I went to the bar and ordered a pint of Bombardier, the guy next to me heard my accent and asked where I was from. His name was Gregor. He knew all teh words to the traditional celtic music that Graeme was playing and he tried to teach me some of the words. I was then talking to an older couple from Kerry, Ireland that were enjoying their last night here. We clapped, sang and stomped out feet to the music. It was a great time. I gave them my card. I hope they drop me an email. After talking to them for awhile, they started doing what my grandmother does (must be an Irish thing): find a good lad for me. She was so sweet and so surprised I was single. Maureen spotted 2 lads standing by themselves and motioned for them to come near and introduced us. Then she shoved me into them, haha... reminds me so much of Granny. They seemed flattered and because I'm so shy I introduced myself. They were both actually pretty cute. Their names were Keith and Michael. We spoke for a bit and once the bar did last call we headed down the streat. We did Yager Bombs (so good) and headed down to the club to dance. They had a good laught immitating my sweet moves. I had a fantastic time. We danced until the club closed 2 hours later. When we left they walked me back to my hostel. I got granola bars from my bag, were were starving. Then they agreed to meet me and show me Edinburgh tomorrow because they were off work/university. One o'clock, in front of the castle. I climbed the stairs to my room and instantly went to sleep without even changing my clothes. lol I love Edinburgh.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb