I love Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
May 19th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up around 9 am, without my alarm. I showered, changed and wandered down High Street. Bagpipers, kilt shops, ladies spinning thread on the streets, I love Scotland. I stopped in a cafe for a cup of coffee, but was short 20 pence, the man sold me the coffee anyways as a kind gester. (I came back to give him the 20 pence once I used the ATM maching at the Royal Museum of Scotland.) Which is where I headed to next. The Museum is free, yes! Half of it is under construction, but it's still massive. I wandered gazing at the Scottish artifacts for a while. It was 12:30 when I left because I was going to meet Keith and Michael. I waited for 20 minutes past 1. I was stood up. Damn boys. Disappointing, but I got over it fast. I wasn't planning on having a tour guide in the first place, and meeting new people hasn't been a problem.
I made up my mind that I wanted to see Edinburgh Castle. I went over the bridge that used to help visiters cross the mout. The Scottish guards were at the castle gates, kilts and all. I bought my ticket and joined a tour that was luckily just starting as I walked in. I would find after I took the time to look around, the tour guide didn't say anything that wasn't on the signs throughout. When the tour concluded we wer by the entrance to the Royal Jewels of Scotland. I learned that Scotland is the only country to have a complete set of royal jewels: crown, septar and sword. The craftmanship and age of the sword and septar were amzing. The crown was stereotyipcal, yet colorful. (Red faberic with gold and jewels, yada yada) More impressive than the actual pieces is the history behind them. The necklance and broatch had more diamonds than I've ever seen. I wish they allowed us to take pcitures. As you excited you go into a gift shop (go figure). I was drawn to the earrings and found some Scottish Thristle silver earrings made in Scotland. They're pretty, and cheap. Perfect 😊 I also found something my mom is going to like. From there I explored the beautiful Royal Apartments and War memorial. There were books upon books of names of Scottish soldiers that had died in battle. The inside of the memorial was beautifully decorded with stain glass windows and decorated stone. Again, I wish I could have taken pictures. I also wandered into the Scottish War museum and read about famous moments in Scotlands massive history.
I got a bite to eat, soup and sandwich special. The mushroom soup really hit the spot. I sat and spoke iwht a middle aged couple visiting from Newcastle. They suggested that I visit St. Giles Cathedral, and I decided that's where I would go next.
When I finihsed my meal I went to the Scottish War Memorial Museum. It was a lot like the other museum, but what stod out to me was that regiments had a group dog and one of them was on display, stuffed after it died because it received a metal of bravery for chasing cannonballs during combat. Haha. Once through, I made my way to St. Giles catheral, which I'd already past when I was previously exploring High Street. It was being refurbished but it was pretty. Nothing in comparision to Warminster Abbey and Bath Abbey's granditure. After tha I began to think how cool it would be to climb to St. Arthur's seat for the sunset. I went on my way to the end of the Royal Mile and Holyrood Palace and the Queen's gallery. Both were closed and when I asked someone out front why, I was informed that the Queen was there. I wandered paster where the new Parliment building is. It has very abstract architecture, almost looks like they wanted it to be a colorful bamboo hut. It really stands out in a city of old stone buildings. I made my way across the street, which was no easy task during rush hour. I then began my ascent up the side of the mountain. Almost instantly I noticed ruins to my left. I went to check it out. It's what is left of St. Andrews Chapel. Because America's so young, ruins fascinate me. I marveled for a bit and watched the swans play in the water below. I then continued on my way up the mounain. So many pretty views of the city as I climbed. It was exciting to imagine how much more beautiful the view would be from the very top. As I was nearing the top I ran into a guy, Jordan, who goes to school at Texas A&M back in the states. We made plans to meet at McGregor's pub later tonight with a bunch of his friends. I never made it there though. I continued up the mountain, scaling the rocks in shoes that were deinitely not made for these sorts of adventures. Nevertheless, I perseavered and finaly made it to the top. It was absolutely stunning. You could see for miles and miles. Everything else was so flat. You could see across Firth of Fourth, it was amazing. I sat up there taking pictures and just enjoying the view for a few minutes, but the cold from the wind convinced me that it wasn't worth it to wait for the sunset. And from the altitute it would take at least another 2 hours for the sun to set, not to mention I was freezing from the intense wind. I began finding my way down the mountain and looked over the other side from where I came. THERE WAS A NICE EASY WINDY PATH! No scaling the rocks required, but the same beautiful scenery. Beacuse of my spur of the moment decision to climb this mountain without proper shoes, I thought the easy trip down was perfect. I'm glad I went up the hard way it wouldn't have been nearly as satisfying reaching the top otherwise. On the way down I stopped for a few minutes to talk to two loacls interested in talking to an American. Then I reached flat soil and was back on the Royal Mile. I got back to Castle Rocks, changed and headed out for the night. I went to the pub, past the non-eventful McGregor's. I twas rather early but I was looking for more live music. I love the fiddles, guitars and Scottish/Celtic music. I ended up at a place with £2 special for MacAllen Scottish Whiskey. I figured I would regret not getting such chap, good whiskey in a place notorious for their whiskey. So I did the touristy thing and ordered one. I was amazing. Burned in the beginning and then smooth smokey taste. Lovely. This guy going bald, natural red face, told the bartender to give me another double fo what I ordered I think he a) wanted someone to talk to and b) noticed I really liked what I was drinking. Turns out he was Irish. I told him about my trip and invited these students of Edinburgh University to join our conversation. Turns out they were some of the weirdest, disturbing people I have ever met. Apparently, in Denmark where thye are from, it is legal to have sex with farm animals. Once I realized they weren't just joking about taking advantage of this lack of legal ramifications I prompletly finished my drink and left. I twas a Monday night and not much was going on, so I decided to head back to get some sleep. I start my tour of Scotland tomorrow morning! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0969s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb